In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt suggests the idea - what the Butler County did was enough to lessen the road accidents and should be replicated for the same of Prunty County. Though the author analysis both the situations analogously, there some some underlied assumptions that have to be cleared of before coming to any conclusions -

1. The Prunty Country has not taken the necessary improvement steps that have been discussed into the prompt comparing to the Butler County.

2. The skillset of drivers of both the counties are same.

3. The other important factors pertinent with road accidents are same for both the counties.

First to begin with - it is assumed that the Prunty Council has not taken the improvment steps taken by the Butler County. What if it is not the case and the Prunty County has taken even those initiatives at larger scale, still suffering from the accedents? What if the drivers driving over the roads are not skilled enough? What if the drivers are not dilligent enough to maintain the regulations provided by the Prunty County? If that is the case then no improvement projects and initiatives will be of any use. If, even by further investigation, comes out that the driver of the Butler County are much more educated and sincere enough to follow the roads and high regulations compared to those of Prunty County. If that is the case - then, no matter how much providential steps the county takes it will be upshot of zero result.

Another point - the author is missing - although it is said that the speed limit of the Butler County is 55 mph. But what if it is not the same in actual case. What if it is compensated even with lower limiting speed; violating which will result into the dismay of the drivers? Good possibility that taking this impediment as well as proper application of highway laws has decreased the accidents of the Butler County, not the improvement steps. So, in that case - it should not be a fool's talk to say that - proper regulation and application of highway rules might be the solution for Prunty County rather than blindly following the Butler County.

Apart from that - it is mentioned in the prompt that the Butler County has initiated the steps about five years earlier from the concluding period. However, in the case of Prunty County - the tasks are judged based on only the evidences of last year. That is to say - what if changes occur after two or three years later from conclusion time? It might be same for the Butler County that - initially the driver were having same issues as the drivers of Prunty County is having now - yet the initiative became a successful one - giving sifficient amount of time. So it can be said that - it might be too early to come into conclusion that Prunty County has not done enough for the road's safety for which they have to follow the Butler County.

So, looking at all the factors and angles, it might not be an ideal case to come to any conclusion as there are plenty of assumptions to be cleared of as well as much evidences are in need to make a firm decision regarding the road safety of the Prunty County.