The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The prompt suggests the idea of the vice-president about the resurgence of alpaca overcoats in order to gain more profits. The argument from the author although showed certain logical reasoning, it is still inflicted with logical flaws in its premises. These assumptions are to be mentioned followed by necessary clarifications.

First of all, the author believes that the new fabric to start the production of the alpaca coat will not affect any change in the quality. What if the new fabric does not withstand the hgih-quality of the previous wool fabric? If it matches the quality then it will be a success to reintroduce the alpaca coat made from these new fabric. However, what if those fabrics do not resemble the same quality? It might be the case that the Sartorian company was actually favorite to their customers because of their high-quality fabric, not becasue of any other thing. Now, if this spectaculation is gone then there is high possiblity that most of theri customers will not be that much responsive towards the reintroduced alpaca coat, although made by the same company. If this is case to happen, then the vice-president has to rethink his idea to introduce the alpaca coat made from the new fabric.

Second assumptions to be highlighted is that - the vice-president conjectured that the demand of their very own alpaca coat will last even after their remiss because of the inability of other competitors to produce the coat of same quality. But here he has arguebly neglected the fact that - the customers might have chosen the alternatives from other shops or companies - which are might not be in the competitor's list of the Sartorian company. It also can be the case that - the customers have imported their comfortable coats from overseas because of lack of qualified ones and so the demand of the alpaca coat might not be that high the vice-president is expecting. Even if there is high demand of the coat, the company has to prove their worth by their product - the same quality of the coats they used to provide to their customers. Only becasue the competitors of the Sartorian company could not stand the quality of the aplaca coats and the remission of the Sartorian company - will not guaratee that the customers will love to purchase the newly introduced coat. What if quality of the new coat is actually worse than the contemporay coats and as a result the customers have to go for the other available ones, helping to make profits for the other manufacturing company. If this is the case - then the vice-president will suffer loss in his business, let alone making profits.

Third assumption to be scrutinized is that - the vice-president believes that without lowering the price of the coats, even in the midst of the price hike, will eventually help them to gain profits. This concept does seem to be a bit fishy. Critically judged - if the Sartorian company wants to be profitable even in the midst of the increment of clothing price, it has to lower its cost of cloths in order to attract more customers, perhaps by discounting or by giving quality cloths at a cheaper price than its competitors. But neither of the cases is mentioned to be followed by the Sartorian company and that is why it is not clear - why the vice-president assumed that they will make profits even there is rise in the price of the cloths. If they do not follow this idea of reduction in price of the cloths then then customers, even though providing quality stuffs to them, might think that the Sartorian company is taking their advantage because of the price hike situation and this will not make good impression abou them in the long run Whereas, they can easily attract a great amount of cutomers by only reducing the price of the much demanded cloths, helping them to proift more as more customers will likely to by those at cheaper price compared to other companies. However, the prompt does not provide any evidence regarding that prospect.

So, looking at all the points aforementioned, it can be safely drawn that - only by reintroducing the same named alpaca cloth might not help the company to flourish rather they has to maintain the same quality as they used to do five years ago and also they need to come up with necessary business strategy to attract a greater amount of customers, nevertheless, much of evidences are needed to complete these plots and validity of the assumptions presented above, without which a concrete conclusion can not be made.