Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

practice the question

Yes, I do agree with the former concept of maintaining friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time rather than making new friends easily. I personally, believe this idea due to two concepts - it builds up empathy among the shared ones and it makes people more comfortable to another.

People being in friendship over longer time periods will share more times than the ones who are relatively on newer terms. Due to their familiarity for a great deal of time they become attached to one another in terms of emotional and personal basis. This attachment impacts their relative emotion emphatically. That is to say they become much more aware of the things they shared with each other, develop e sense of responsibility towards one another, they build memories and thereby they create bonds among them. For example - having a friend for over 10 years will definitely make me more comfortable to share my personal belongings and secrets with him compared to the one whom I knew for about one month or so. This is a very normal thing and due to this people having greater amount of time spent with one another have higher sense of empathy and sympathy compared to the fresher ones.

The other perspective is the comfort level of a person with his newly built friendship and his old friendship. It is generally accepted that if a person knows another one for a longer period of time then he supposed to know many things about the former one. This single thing makes the subject person more comfortable to him compared to the other person who knows him for a very less amount time. Its because the subject person will feel some pressure to impress or to maintain a certain level of prestige in front of the lesser known friend which will definitely hurt his comfort zone. Whereas the older friendship does not have such kind of pressure upon each other and this phenomena makes the relationship more comfortable and enjoyable. And as the emotion begets, the lesser the pressure will be the higher the mental relief and comfort will be which will ultimately result in higher happiness.