Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The prompt urges the notion that the greatness of a nation can be identified by the acheivements of its rulers, artists and scientists, contrarily - it is in fact can only be identified by the welfare of all its people. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly disagree with the second notion of the prompt" with the given concept and hereby obliged to provide necessary elaboration of certain points in defense of my position.

The greatness of a nation is not subjected to only one thing, rather it is a perimeter that is dependent upon many things. However, the ultimate aim of the greatness is only the developement, welfare and safety of the people circumscribed by the boundary of the nation. Everything and anything that is done in order to achieve the greatness is only for the people. Saying this, the rulers, artists and scientists - are the prominent figures of a nation and are laudable for their contribution to their nation. The interesting thing is that - no figure can gain the fame or the applaude from its fellow people unless it has done something great for his or her country. It might be by inventiong something or by ruling the country towards economical and social developement or even by enthrawlling artistic panache. Wahtever is gained by these prominent firgures are subjected to the developemtn of their nation. It is because without any physical, social, economical significance - no deftness or greatness or skill of a person can be regarded as great virtue. For example - if an indiovidual ruled a nation for 30 or 40 odd years and has been successful in achieving political and economical flourishment from the earlier stage - then the nation obviously is going to be remembered by his fellow people as one of the greatests that ever ruled. On the other hand, if another ruler of same potential and elegance could not achieve the feat has been achieved by by the former mentioned one - his talents and his charisma are of no use because these have not served to anything for his layperson. So, the ultimate greatness of an individual is identified by the welfare done by him.

If a person is determined great by only his potential then probably there will be so much greats in the world to be uncountable! But surprisingly that is not the case. It is because there are so many people with great potential but have not been able to do anything to be regarded as great. For exmaple - the people of their respective countries are always willing to do good things for their countries, live and die with honour - that is almost same for all the human beings of respective countries. Among them there wll be some people who have shown spectacular promise in their lives to do something very big and unimaginable for their countries. But could not gain the feat becasue of many factors. Nevertheless, among those people there will be only a few people who has been able to achieved that feat and contribute greatly for his nation adn others just could not reach upto that level. So, these later people will be regarded as greats, not the former groups - because of their accomplishments for the bigger purpose - benefits for humanity.

However, it might be said that - there are many more prodigious inventions that had been phenominal and even in some cases can surpass the potential of great inventions that had been regarded as boons. But the question is what were the purpose of those inventions? Like - did those inventions come as benefits for the simple peeple or the inventions had been diverted to the actual purpose of those? For example - it is the fact that all the inventions will not be regarded as beneficiary for human beings. Some of those will be very popitious and some of those might not withstand the purpose. In these cases - although the both of thes two types of inventions had been produced by the scholars, scientists and other prodigious figures we can only count the inventions as greatests which have been the casue of human peace, harmony and welfare. The other inventions will be regarded as "very good' ones or with so much applaudatory words but will never be tantamount to the greatness of the beneficiary ones - becasue of its purpose and use that defied these inventions from other ones.

So, looking at all the points and examples mentioned above, it can be said that - the greatness of a nation is achieved by the welfare of its people because the achievements of all of its rulers, scientists and artists will all be valued as zero if those achievements are not conduicive to the welfare of its people.