The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt supports the idea of the mayor to incorporate the same workloads in the Hopewell town as of the Ocean view in order to increase the economic growth of the town. Although there are quite a few evidences that the author has mentioned in his reasoning, there are still enough logical flaws in his premises to make his argument a faulty one. The assumptionsa re here to be mentioned followed by necessary clarifications.

First of all, the mayor believed that - the economical growth of Ocean view is largely due the intorduction of their newly built golf course. However, what if it is not as he would have thought. Might be the case that the Ocean View had revised their dishes and revitalized their diets according to the preference of the majority of the customers. As a result, more customers are preferring their hotel as they get their favoruite dishes available there. Also, might be the reason behind the growth of the Ocean View hotel is due to their change in behaviour towards their customers or their reduction in food cost, although mgith have been successful in recovering the amount by opening the golf court with a minimal fee. The Ocean View hotel authority might have gained the profit not only by introduicing the golf course or resorting hotel but also reducing the food prices preferred to theri customers and by attracting a certain type of customers simultaneously. Both of such type of acitivites had servely largely to them for their purpose to get served and gained the economic growth. However, there is no evidence from the author whether the Hopewell town is thinking to incoporate both of these type of tactics or not.

Second faulty conjecture by the mayor is that - he believed that introducing resort hotel might help the Hopewell town to gain more profits. But what if he missed a discrepency between the location of the two cities. It can be assumed that the Ocean view is nearer to the ocean of that town and the Hopewell town is not as nearer to ocean as the foremer is - as the prompt does not make the location of both of these towns clear. If that is so - then the Ocean View is suppossed to get more customer in any ways becasue of the majestic view of the ocean. However, the ame might not be incorporated for the Hopewell town. One fo the reason might be is that it is far from the ocean along the city and therefore will attract less number of people to visit theri hotel - if made as by the conjecture of the mayor. As a result, even though a new resort is built by the Hopwell twon, it might not be as profitable as it has been for Ocean View and so it would be quite fruitless to apply the same measures of the Ocean View blindly for the Hopewell town.

Thirdly, the author premised that - the increment of the tax revinue will be same as that of the Ocean View. However, considering this assertion, he might have ignored the per head income of the residents of the Hopewell town. What if ther residents of Hopewell town are not that much interested in the newly build golf course and resort as both if these will require good amount of money to avail. It might be the case that the residents of Hopewell might consider these as unnecessary if they do not find interest in golf. Also, the mayor has not explicitly mentioned in the prompt whether the residents of the Hopewell town do like golf or not. If they like then it might work in the proposition of the mayor but if it does not then the building of the golf course will be a spendthrift considering the negligable amount of profit it will earn from it or if any at all. Apart from this - even if the people like to play golf, the residents might not be interested in the foods they served and so they might be reluctant to visit the newly built hotel only for the golf course - as there is no evidence about the quality of the food in Hopewell; crucial factor for deciding the proposal's worth.

So, looking at all the aforementioned viewpoints and questions, it can be safely said that- much more evidences and answers are needed to come to a concrete conclusion as the mayor has been quite prevaricated and lack of precision in his assumptions, considering his argument.