The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt urges to disavow the permission to develop the land under the preservation of Youngtown Wildlife by The Smith Corporation. The prime reasons as well as some logical flaws; underneth the vague assumptions are stated only to be followed by sufficient critical reasoning.

1. The development of the land, small portion udner the Youngtown Wildlife, will definitely cause consequential harm to the birds.

2. Building a hotel on the small portion opf the land will definitely make the birds vulnerable to free surfing.

3. The residents of Youngtown will no longer have access to the revenues they get from tourists visiting the sanctuary.

To begin with - in spite of being promised by The Smith Corporation, the Youngtown Wilflide residents are not sure regarding the harm that might cause the birds of that area. To utter surprise, the environmental protection group migh not be acknowledged about the working policy of The Smith Corporation. What if the Smith Corporation maintains a certain code of buidling the land; provided by the authority of the area or by the government. The point can be unanimously accepted that - the maintainance of certain regulations provided by the government will do no harm to the wildlife as well to the birds. So it can be safely said that - if the Smith Corporation maintains the development work with proper regulations then the accuse by the environment protection group will be invalid.

Coming to the next - the pressumption that building a hotel might not help the birds to freely move as they did before. But it also prevaricates the the possibility that - what if the hotel is made with proper warning and acknowledgement, being that to say - attacking the wildlife or harming any animal or birds are thought to be criminal activites. If the Smith Corporation maintains such kind of strictness in its working princple in order to fulfilling its vows, then it stands good chance that no birds or animals will suffer from any casualities.

Also, the group are quite skeptic of their revenues; they had access to the visiting tourists before the development of the land. But it might still be possible even after the hotel is built. That is to say - for instance; the Smith Corporation might lend the sanctuary from the Youngtown Wildlife group and make it open to the visiting guests of the hotel, of course with proper conducts, rules and certain amount of fees. From there - if a good amount of those fees are supported to the protection group or residents of that area, then it will also provide them with certain amount of money. So, that - the group will devoid of any certain economic facilities that they were getting previously, mag stand no chance if the Smith Corporation works that way.

Overall, looking at all the aforementioned views and prospects, it can easily be said that the assumptions are still in need of proper clarification; also with necessary data and evidences to support those assumptions pointed out earlier. Without these credentials it might not be a good idea to come to any conclusion.