The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In response to the consideration of "petition" on banning cell phones in sidewalks of Centerville numerous evidences have been regarded, although there remains certain questions to be answered before coming to any conclusions. Based on the assumptions stated in the prompt, without justifying each of these, it would be nothing but a injustice to ban cell phones of the peasants of the mentioned city as cell phones have become a part and parcel of daily lives wherever we are in.

First of all, it is assumed that the increment in the assaults, damages and disruptions are the results os usage of cell phones in sidewalks. The author is missing a point here. That is to say, there may be innumerable reasons working behind the antagonism in the city. Who knows there are certain groups who are willing doing these to the peasants to fullfill their aims. They might do the same even if the cell phones are banned from using in the sidewalks, may be in disguise of some other ways. Now more importantly - if any individual on the sidewalks of the city is in any kind of urgency then how can he or she could contact with his or her collegues far away from them if cell phones are not alloweed to use in sidewalks, considering the uprise of indignant customaries in the city. In this case, cell phones are must in the sidewalks let alone be banned.

Second of all, it is assumed that texting in the cell phones are slowing down the traffic and also increases the tendency of accident in the road as people become vulnerable to bump into other walkers. But this assumption can be carefully hedged providing that the city council prepares seperate walkways for slow moving vehicles and fast moving ones. As a result there will be slight chance of one to to getting into path of another one. Providing these barriers can decrease thew potentials of future accidents. So, the assumption that texting in the cell phone is somewhat causing the vulnerability is somewhat pressumptous.

Lastly, it might not a good idea to compare the cell phone ban in the Middletown with that of the Centerville because there might be different scenerio with the pedestrians. There are may be people who are not following the regulations provided by the city council of Middletown even after maintaining the above stated measures.

So overall, looking at the considerations and logical reasoning stated above it might not be wise to come into any conclusion without answering the questions.