Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

One portion of the prompt urges that the sole responsibility of a corporation is to promote the well-being of the societies while the other one states that there sole aim is to make as much money as possible. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly agree" with the former statement and therefore obliged to provide necessary viewpoints in defense of my position.

The corporations, irrespective of private and public or autonomous, have to work for the betterment of something otherwise they will not be allowed to run on by the authority. Now, the aim of these corporation depends on varities of sectors. For example - there are some corporations which conducts in clothings and cosmetics, there are some which solely based on food supply and beverages, also there are some which work on the contemporary needs of the then people. Whatever the aim of a corporation will be, it should be come from the contribution to the society. There will be hardly any corporation which can flout their novel aim and work only to earn money rapaciously. This is not possible for any corporations as all the legitimate corporations are under a certain authority of their respective places or the under the supervision of government. Even though the corporation succeeded in establishing their business still they will languish in the long run if they do not provide necessary outcome the public wants from it. They might profit by earning huge amount of money from people, although working under the law, but they will lag behind other corporations when the ephimeral attraction is gone.

For example - two corporations, working under the same category and same allotted hours - one of the them is quite enthusistic in helping the simple people out of love and passion. Whereas the other one is happy enough to earn as much profits and gains it can do, obviously not by flouting the laws. Both of these companies might seem to do just the right thing, even though the foremer one is better to get more response then the latter one. It is because the foremer one will gain the trust and affection of people. People will start to believe in their efforts and their products. The earlier corporation might even face much less monetary outcome or priviledges pereviously, but in the long run they are in more comfortable position to extend in the future. On the other hand, the latter one might be able to work out just professionally, without much effort to impress its customers and capricious about their demand might not do well in the future evemn though they are not harming any laws, working suitable within it. But just to provide only necessities will only help them to grow; the must one virtue for a corporation to maintain its existance - can be seen in the culture of the earlier mentioned corporation.

Counter-view can be that - there is nothing wrong in professionally working and earning as much money as possible, obviously remain under the laws. It is well observed view, however, lacks foresight. The thing is that - the extension and the growth of a corporation comes from the response of the people. And people will demand "better". The betterment can be of anything, in good behaviour, good aims, good works, voluntery works and so on. When a corporation provides them with so much altruistic and socially appreciated works they tend to trust those corporations and remain biased to them by which the corporation can earn the belief of those people, helping them only to extend themselves in the long run. Whereas, the hard and fast rules adapted one does soonly becomes obsoleted because of the high competition caused by the mentioned coporations and as a result they might not be able to earn as much money as they would have earned earlier. So, grwoth and continuous developement of a corporation is impeded when it bounds itself only to earning money rapaciously, although remaining under the boundaries of laws - cultivating them to perish in the long run.

So, looking at all the viewpoints and factors mentioned althrough the essay, the aim to only earn money, even though remaining under the boundaries of law - might not help any coporations, specially when the contemporary corporations are much more devoted in doing social works and developemental projects - as it will obstruct its growth to flourish, resulting to be a deadlock corporation.