The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt urges that the greatness of an individual can only be understood by his or her precedents, not by the contemporaries. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly disagree" with the concept and hereby I am obliged to showcase necessary elaboration of my points in defense of my position.

To begin with - the statement that - the greatness can not be understood by the contemporaries of an individual rather by could be by his or her progeny - is somewhat considerable not until the term "only" is used. When the term "only" is used then the statement becomes more of an orthodox one to contemplate over. So, the main issue is that the greatness of an individual can be understood by both of his or her contemporaries as well as the generation coming to next. Now, the premise of this statement can be decided upon different situations. And before that we have to be very clear about the term used in the prompt "greatness". In context of the essay it might indicate the clemency of a person, or the deftness of an individual or might be the courage of one or the list might go on. Taking the very first one into consideration - the kindness of a person can easily be perceived by his or her conduct towards other people. It does not necessarily need his or her progeny to come brandish their ancestor greatness or might be. Suppose - a great person who is willing to help his society regardless of his wealth or any precariousness, is loved by all. He is bound to be loved by the mendicants and the poors; hardly manage their body and soul together. Because of his kindness people will love to cherish him before society irrespective of how much he tried to maintain secrecy in his givings. People laud this kind of activites and as a result, the kind person is going to be applauded by his contemporaries and in many cases - the genaration after genaration remembers this kind of person. One very lively example of this kind of personnel we evident in the face of many legends who has bestowed their lives and properties for the development of his society and his native people - who are actually cherished by not only their progeny but also by their contemporary people.

Counter prospect can be derived from the fact that - in various cases people try to remain anoynomous in their deftness or their courage through which they could or wiould like to serve the society and that is why they might not remembared through the respective time rather by their decedents. Yes, the statement supports the partial idea that - there are people actually who want to remain "no-one" or just try to avoid any kind of publicity. But the funny fact is that - if people of the respective times were not being able to consider or were not being introduced by the supremity of a person, he or she (the person) will be lost in oblivion. History has been the evident of the many facts that - such a great amount of schoalrs or warriors - who had showed early promises; could change the world in a great deal - had gone in the darkness of unknown. The sole reason for their precariousness is their unanoynomousity among their surrounding people. So, if the people around a inchoate great person; showing promises can not be properly identified by his or her contemporaries - then he might not be regarded in the history as a "great" peroson at all. In that sense - it is kind of a must to remain familiar with the living person for a true potential person in order to be remembered as great.

Various situation arises where people neglected the greatness of many people for their own advanatges. They had their own persuasion in doing that. However, from the mentioned reasoning and critical remarks it would be enough to support the fact that it is as important for a person to be known to both his progeny and his contemporaries in order to remain as great.