Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The opinion stated in the prompt is arguing for investing the resources for unmanned space flight than to manned one. This excerpt from the national aeronautics magazine has followed certain logical reasons, however, based on the following assumptions -

1. There is no risk or minimal risks in incorporating the unmanned space flights compared to the manned ones.

2. The success of the recent unmanned space flights have outweighed the successes of the manned ones.

3. The manned space flights do not provide sufficient information compared to that of unmanned ones.

To begin with - it is not confirmed from the prompt that the successful missions of the unmanned space flights have totally been independent of human. What if these require a sophisticated hand of human to control their movement? What if the autonomous ones are not properly managed or properly build up before surging for the voyage? It is nowhere in the passage mentioned that the authority will take proper care or necessary impediments for preparing the unmanned flights before their take off. If this assurance is not confirmed then it will be nothing but a fool's idea to think that this unmanned vehicles are safer than that of human controlled ones.

Apart from that - the prompt did not provide necessary information regarding the success failure statistics of the manned and unmanned flights. Even if it is assumed that the success rate of unmanned flights are higher than that of manned ones in recent times, does it mean that it will continue for the same? What if the surroundings of the target planets changed or the unmanned ones do not have the properties to cope with heavy uncertainties. It is clearly known to all that the outside of world, space is full of anomalies. So it will not be a bad idea to assume that the space will remain same forever. Now, when this changes occur and the unmanned vehicles can not incorporate changes within them to cope with it them these unmanned flights will face huge breakdowns. On the other hand, it might not be the case a human is in charge of the flight or controls the flight as we know that an aeronaut is prepared to face this kind of situations and he or she might find a solution to save the information with his or her intelligence; absent from the unmanned ones.

Also - the information and experience a person can gather following a space voyage might be way above the mere raw information from the unmanned space flights. More importantly, a person can give suggestion based on his experience which might help for the future flights. But the unmanned space flights do not withstand any chances of doing so.

So, looking and taking all the perspectives aforementioned, it might not be a bad idea to clarify all the assumptions with take account of necessary eviden before coming to any certain conclusion.