The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt supports the incentive on behalf of a television station to increase their coverage of weather and local news rather than national news. Although the conclusive evidences are not yet cleared, it would be better to point out the logical flaws of the assumptions implicit in the prompt -

1. The business manager expects that his viewers will be available just to be notified about the weather and local news during any of their schedule of broadcast.

2. The viewers will be available or interested enough to acknowledge the news regarding local and weather even at late night, pressumbly at the time of advertising broadcasts.

3. The station will gain same amount of profit by broadcasting local and weather news late at night in place of advertising local businesses.

4. Compalints have been filed from majority of the viewers.

The conjectures mentioned here are hereby scrutinized with proper reasonings.

To begin with - the manager of the television station believed that people; viewing their programes will be interested enough to witness those 24 hours a day. But hat might not turned out to be the case. What if the the spectators love the the news during their exhausting period pr after their working hour and that does not necessarily mean late at night. Some people might work late at night and have family time in the morning. Some might not be interested enough to hear the news of local and weather after coming from late night work even though they are free at that time. If these are the cases - then it might not be a wise decision to replace the local business advertisements with news of local and weather.

Also, there is no clear evidence mentioning how much people have liked their news from various topics and no clear data confirming whether the complained filed by majority of the viewers or minority of them. The prompt said that "most of the complaints" not majority of the people. What does it mean? It might mean that - majority of the complaints informed to them might be from the same viewer. What if an individual viewer has multiple problems than majority of the viewers who might be absolutely fine with the station's broadcasting. Now in this - if the manager takes down all the news portals except that of local ones then - he should think of this decsion twice before counting on it.

Apart from that - it is pressumed by the manager that the TV station will gain similar amount of profit from the broadcasting of local and weather news as from the local business advertisements. But the manager is missing out a point - that is - what if the revenues he will get from the overtime broadcasting of local news do not stand with that of the advertising broadcasts? It might happen that people working late night might be interested to those advertisements rather than hearing the boring news of local weather. In that case - the station will not get same amount of revenue it previously got from the local business.

So, looking at all the factors and elements aforementioned; it might be a better decision to have clear understanding of the assumptions and sort out the questions unanswered providing necessary evidences before coming to any conclusion.