The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt supports the idea from the planning department to avoid construction of a new energy generating plants as they have guessed that there are three electric generating plants would be enough to serve the purpose. Although the planning department has given smattering of logical reasoning to come to the conclusion, however many logical flaws inflicted the assumptions that underlie the argument. These premises are mentioned hereafter followed by clarifications.

To begin with - the department believes that most of the home owners will avail the energy efficient home appliances. However, it is nowhere been clearly mentioned about the price of those energy efficient appliances. May be they are too much costly to buy or may not be. It might be the case that the home owner and the habitants are actually willing to buy those accessories but have not been able to because of the high price. Although it is also plausible that those are not out of the limit of the habitants and thus the idea of conserving energy can be brought into play quickly, there is no evidence or assurance of it in the prompt. If it is the case then there will be no problem in avoiding the construction of a new energy plant. But it will not be the same if the probation goes otherwise.

Coming to the second - the statement of the department that - " better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available" is somewhat vogue in itself. It has not been cleared by the department wheather it is talking about the efficacy of the accessories or the availablity of those to the habitants and home owners. If it is turned out to be the second case then that is absolutely fine for the company to rise on its plan of conserving energy. But what happens if the department is prevaricating the about the moneable perspectives and thus regards to only about the former one? If it is so then it will not add any extra logic not to build another energy plant. Apart from that - if the earlier one possess more weight then similar explaination will suffice here as it is given in the second parable - lack of sources and evidences about the solvency of the home owner in buying those energy efficient appliances.

Another and most importantly the impairing one - that the department in its austere way believes that the population of their are covergae will be remain same for the whole process. Even if their are coverage does not change, they are quite to hast to believe that new habitants will not come to their area and ther might be enough increase in energy consumption that they might find it hard to manage. However, the case can be turned out into other way too - but again there is no clear declaration of the possiblity. Moreover, the department also quite readily believed that - there three electric generating plants will not be susceptble to any kind of damage in the coming days as they have already served for long time of twenty years. However, closely looking at this fact - isn't it a oxymoron itself? What if the three energy generating plants could not maintain the pressure of increasing demadns of energy if there us any surge of consumers in the run? Even leaving the uprise of consumers, what is the guarantee that the three pkants will continue to serve in the same way that they have done for the past twenty years? There might be no possiblity, however, might be - but again sufficient evidences and assurance is demanded.

So, looking at all the factors and points aforementioned - it might be too fast ot decide upon the fact that the company will not require any construction of a new energy plant becasue of their available resources. Best way to conduct upon it will be to answer the questions asked in the passage; providing sufficient reasoning and evidences which lack much in the prompt. Only after that a concrete decision can be taken wheather a new energy construction plant is needed to be built or not.