The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt supports for the consideration of Zeta building rather than Alpha for new building projects. Though the vice president has showed some of the logical reasoning, certain logical flaws are inflicted with the premises that underlie the argument. Those conjectures are to be mentioned only followed by necessary clarifications.

To begin with - the one of the prime assumption is to consider the Zeta building becasue of its lower maintainance cost compared to Alpha. The question to be asked - is that maintainance of a building in any mean pertinent to the building a new one? Is it authentic enough to consider that as the maiantaince cost of Zeta builidng is lower so would be the one of the new building or even it will help somehow for the purpose? That the new building is a completely new project, it might not have nay significance with the maintainance of the Zeta building. It might be the case that the the new building may consider the factors that Zeta building has disregarded previously. For example - supposedly, the working environment and the suorrounding of the Zeta building may not be well planned and may be the maintainance is not up to the standard; that is why the mainatance cost is lower. It might be the case that the owner of the Zeta building is not much attentive towards the mainatainance of the building, causing chepaer cost. All of these might not be same for the new building to be made. May be the owner of the building will be more sincere towards the mainatance of it and as a result it will cost more; sparing the fact that theere is actually any significance of it with the regards to the Zeta building.

Coming to the second - the lower energy consumption of Zeta building might be significant for the new building making. Simplifying - the cost of energy for the new building will be less if is considered with regards to the Zeta building. What if the guarantee that the new building will require same amount of energy that the Zeta building is consuming? May be the working force of the new building is much bigger than the Zeta building and consequently may cause higher energy consumption. It might be the case that the consumers of energy of the Zeta building are much more sincere regaridng the usage of energy compared to the new building ones, who might be exorbitant in their use of energy. Also we can not disregard the possibility of faulty line that might cause the new building to be vulenerable to excess energy consumption, contrary to the Zeta building - might be devoid of any any limitation or insignificant ones.

The last and most important one is the assumption that - in spite of lower construction cost of Alpha building, Zeta building is advised to chosen becasue of its stable workforce. Might illuminate the fact that - what will be the use of a unskilled labour force if they can not work in a good manner and are not adept? What is the guarantee that the workforce prescribed in the making of Zeta building will be skilled enough to make the new building a success, even though they are stable? It stands good chacne that - the owner of the new projected building might not have any problems regarding the labour change over May be the case that the owner will be happy enough to work with efficient, timed, mannered labour force; unstable yet. Nowhere in the prompt has said anything about the efficiency of the stable workforce. So, more clearance is needed from the vice president get better view for making any decision.

So, the factors and points aforementioned - it might not be a good idea to come to any conclusion based on the reasoning and logics provided above. To need better view of the overall situation and future prospects necessary evidences are needed along with the answers of the questions asked - only then a conclusion can be made.