Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt supports the idea to take the hominid's food, Paleo diets in order to cure many chronic illnesses. Although the prompt is sound in its reasoning of the facts, however, certain logical flaws are implicited in the assumptions which are followed by seemingly enough clarifications here.

To begin with - the major part of the reasoning of the prompt in support of taking the Paleo diets is regarding the diets followed by our ancestors. The author assumes that as our ancestors were sound enough to have these diets and led better lives then it will do the same effect on us. But the author is missing certain points to take into account. It is much more evident to us, as by the virtue of modern science - is that human morphology as been changed drastically over the years since our evolution in mother earth. People of the very first era was much more sophisticated in terms of certain things that we are not now as well as much more insouciance regarding somethings that we are not readily now. Apart from that - their bodies had been evolved based on the surroundings they lived and based on the other foods available to them. Similarly, we are not of any exceptions. But the environment around us, foods avalaible to us and also the weather around us have changed drastically compared to that of our ancestors times. So, based on thess the demand of our bodies and the metabolism power of our physics, their food diets might not be as suitable for us as were for them. Who knows, the Paleo diets might not be the different one in this respect.

Coming to the second one - even though criticism from the skeptics, it is analogically derived that - as the ancestors who consume this Paleo diets; composed of bone broth had fewer inflammatory diseases compared. What if their prevention from those diseases was mainly helped not by the consumption of the diets but by their constant exposure to germs and bacterias. What if the ancestors were not owing their health benefits only to the diet but also to their accustomed to works that require high metabolistic power; ultimately suiting them better physical immunity. These cases might be the probable ones for which sufficent evidences have not been mentioned here in the prompt.

Also the fact that - the author assumed - our ancestors knew better than us in respect of our physiology and we might not. To accord this claim require simple reasoning. Our ancestors were about 100 to thousands years older than us. The environments as well as sciences were not developed enough in that time for the then people to do good ground works or research works on their morphology or physiology. Because of scarce of enough opportunitiesit might not be a good idea to assume that the had better understanding than us in the field of physiology, comapred to us; having available sources to conduct better research.

So, looking at all the aforementioned points and critical remarks, it might not be a better idea to come to any conclusion without sufficient evidences and facts; not properly mentioned in the passage. To come to any certain conclusion - enough scientific facts and evidences are mostly regarded.