A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The health experts mentioned in the prompts predict that - people in coming future are less likely to suffer from headache because of increase use of salicylates in foods. In spite providing certain evidences with logical reasoning, there are are certain logical flaws in the underlied assumptions of the health experts and that is why are required proper clarification of those conjectures.

To begin with - the health experts assumed that as salycylates are the memebers of the same group chemical family of aspirin, so it will have similar effect on the body of human health. But are they actually doing the same? It can be known easily from scientific sources that all the elements belonging from similar group will not impart the same beneficial effect. For instance - methanol and alcohol are both from the same group of elements however, each of them has different uses and effects from human perspectives. One is dreadful to health and another one served with food. So, it might not be bad idea to suspect that weather the use of salicylates are actually decreasing the headaches of people.

Secondly, the twenty - year reported study, that undergrids the correlation between commercial use of the salicylates and decline of headache, is authentic enough to rely on? Lets for time being we take the survey as a trusted one. Even though it does not clearify the whole thing. That is to say - what if the the people, suffering from headache, have been having the food , enriched in salicylates, are not taking any medicine apart from the foods? It may not be a fool's idea to think that the people suffering from severe headaches are actually having other medicines also. And more pragmatically, the decline of the headaches might be the result of the long usages of those medicine, not because of the salicylates. Then the health experts consummation on salicylates may not hold the authenticity.

Apart from that also - we know that excessive intake of anything is deleterious to our health irrespective of how much nutritious value they intake. Similarly, if salicylates are used as food additives as well as a replica of aspirin, it might even cause severe damage to the patients of the headaches, let alone decrement of their headaches. Morever, it is not cleared in the prompt that weather the foods that are adduced with salicylates are manufacutred specially for the pathients of headaches or for the overall people. If the target consumer of the manufacturers of those foods are the laymen - then what is the surety that excessive use of salicylates will not harm the people; having no headaches? What if it is found later that, preferably after twenty years that the salicylates have caused unyielding damages to the health of the simple folks. If that is the case then - it will be better judge the incessent use of salicylates in foods providng that it has good effect in lessening headaches.

More importantly, it is not ensured in the prompt weather the it is the demand of people that urged the companies to use more salicylates in their foods as additives or they are doing it purposefully for having advantages over their wholesale income. It Might be the case that manufacturer are using this salicylates in order to increase their demand of foods if, with sufficient evidences to proof - that salicylates have deleterious effect and also very cheap in price; helping them to reduce their production cost of foods. So, looking at all the factors aforementioned it can be sincerely concluded that - necessary evidences and clarifications are in need before coming to any certain conclusion.