An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompt supports the idea that an ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients in order to a better idea whether the doctor is competent enough to treat him or her. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "disagree". Hereby, I am obliged to elaborate some points in defense of my position.

To begin with - before asking if the idea is good or bad that a patient shoould have an easy access to his or her doctor's documents or records of patients, we need to be clear about the significance of this to the doctor-patient relationship. It is very evident from our daily lives that people people hardly go to a doctor by checking his previous records. In most cases, people find their comfort zone among the doctors who have good behavour and are modest to their patients. However, that does not mean that we can ignroe all the qualities with the frankness of a doctor towards his patients. What happens is that - the reputation of a doctor plays a huge role in determining one over another for the patients to be treated. Sometimes the record does not tell the whole story and hide the true capabilities of a doctor. Suppose, it is found in the record of one of the doctors that about 60% of the people; inflicted of myopia, have been treated well and are living in good shape. But is there any surety that the records are not biased or are not manipulated.

Morever, for instance- if doctor A's record says that his success rate is 80% compared to doctor B whose success rate is 95%. From this record it can easily be said that doctor B is much more capable in handling patient than doctor B. Howver, if that is so - then we are actually missing a point here. Let be cleared of this. Now what if it is found out later that the success rate calculated for doctor A is out of one thousand plus patients and on the other-hand the same of doctor B is out of merely over 200 patients. If the scenarios are such then we riun into problem, that is to say - we will not get clear understanding of the competence of the doctors rather we might misjudge. If this type of records; which are not properly maintained or cleared of any assumptions - been given easy access to potential patients, then these might bias them and in return they stand poor chance to judge their doctors properly.

Apart from that - if the patients are provided with easy access to the records of their doctors deeds, then in not so rare cases, it might cause forgeries to happen. Even, many ill-willed persons, in disguise of patients may harm change into those records in order to harm the reputation of the respective doctors. Also, giving easy access of the records make the data avaliable there to be misinterpreted; sometimes severe misconceptions or rumors are charged with the death of dire patients beause of taking wrong decisiopns based on those poorly interpreted data available to the patients.

So, looking at all the factors and logical reasoning provided, it might not be a bad idea to state that - patients are not to be allowed to have easy access to the records of their doctors unless those data are properly interpreted to them.