Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt supports the idea that the decrement in the number of western gazelle is caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern Palean Preserve, not for the loos of rainfall. Although the author provided certain points in his proposition, there are sufficient logical flaws in the premises of the argument. Those assumptions are here to mentioned followed by necessary clarification.

To begin with - the author conjectured that the western gazella will not need enugh rainfall to survive and that they are well equipped to last even in a small shortage of rainfall. Wat if the idea of the author might not true? What if water is probably the most significant element in the lives of western gazella? Even if his reasoning is assumed to be true; slight reduction of rain might no do that much harm to the gazella species (western), even though it remains susceptable to question. Slight shortage of rainfall for one week can be regarded. Even for one or two months of reduced rainfall might stand the gazelles out there, providing that they are immune enough to this shortage of rain. But what about three years? An animal which, in the given circumstenses, are needy for water, can survive with three years of reduced rainfall? Most probable ans is "NO". The western gezelle may not withstand such a long strait of reduced rain, which may seem little to the author, but might not be so to the western gazelle's unfortunately.

Another point to make here is that - the author made an analogoy of the western gazelle with their relative species, eastern gazelle. By providing this, he tried to state that - as the easter ones have been well enough in the slight change of rainfall, then their close ones - the wester gazelles should make it through. However, does it authentic enough to judge one specie's habitation or character based on the others' - even if they are closely relaterd to each other? It can be true that both the gazelles are close to each other regarding their characterstics or behaviour. What if they are not so same in their habitation or in their need to struggle? What if the eastern gazella maintain different lifestyle than those of the western ones? It might be the case that the western one needs higher concentration of water compared to the eastern one. Even if we take for granted that - both the species require similar amount of rain water to survive, but does it guarantee that both of them have similar adaptibility? Can't it be the case that - the western gazelle are more suscepable to the scarcity of water than to the eastern ones, even at the least level? It can be. And if it is true then the conjecture of the author might not hold truth.

Thirdly, the author mentioned about the larger number of predators in the Eastern Palaen Preserve, that these predators might be the prime reasons behind the reduction in the number of the western gazelle. It can be, nevertheless, it might not be. There is no specific evidence about the increase of predators in the prompt. Might it be lions or the other ones. There is also no specific evidence of any other animals that could be the predator of the gazelle. Another prospect is that - even increment in the number of predators are actually causing the western gazelle to be eliminated, lets assumed, then why it not true for the eastern gazelles? Perhaps the predators might not be interested in the eastern gazelle. So, much of the relavent evidences are needed to solidify the assumption.

So, looking at all the proponents and factors mentined above, it can be said that - it would be too hasty to come to any conclusion before answering the questions asked in the essays - without providing enough pertinent evidences for the convinience of the conclusion.