The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt supports the idea that interview-centered method is much more plausible than observation-centered method for the child-rearing traditions in island cultures. The excerpt from the article has come to the conclusion based on some implicit assumptions that underlied the judgement. Some of the assumptionsa are provided here only followed by clarification of the logical flaws in those conjectures.

1. Dr. Karp assumes that the proclivity of the children towards their biological parents can be proved by their inquiry of their parents.

2. Dr. Field observation-based method is ignores the part of the child's eloquence.

3. Assumed that questioning about parents from the children is actually proof of their tenaciousness with parents.

To begin with - it can be easily understood that - parents are the most closest persons for a child when it is born. In usual , children will reamain with their parents for good amount of time before leaving to the world of their own. So it can be derived that - as children are to spend a lot of time with their parents for which they will knwo their parents better than other. Consequently, later part of their lives they might not be as interested as they were in infancy. Meaning that - the children are not supposed to ask about questions regarding their parents if they have sufficient time with their parents. In the prompt Dr. Karp conpicuously said that - because the children are talking much about their parents; so the will be reared by their parents which is actually opposite to the normal customes. So, it can be said that the children of Tertia island might not have adequate time with their parents rather are reared by the society of the island.

Secondly, interview-based method for inquiting child-rearing programee might not be of so much authenticity compared to the observation-based one. It is because children are not maturedly developed ones. They might not answer the questions properly that they are asked for.They might be in a state of agitation or might be in their euphemy while interviewing, while a proper observation might help to understand the proclivity and tendency of children within its sorroundings. For instance - the children interviewed by the graduate students are talking abou their biological parents, however, in most of the time of the observation, done by Dr. Field, they might talk regaridng their relatives or the peers of them. Stand a good chance that - the children were actually talking about their parents only that time of the day and other times they are on their own and are comfortable arounding their peers. So, if that is the case then Dr. Karp might require better review of the conclusion he came.

So, looking at all the factors and discussions mentioned above, it can be evidently said that - more time and strong proofs are required to give interview method an upper hand to the observational one as in both circumstances, it lacks time ans well as sufficient evidences; pretty important to come to a proper conclusion.