The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt suggestes the idea of the director to supply Ultraclean at all the hand-washing stations becasue of its efficiency in reducing germs and bacteria. There are certain logical flaws in the premises of the director which are to be mentioned followed by sufficient clarification.

Firstly, the director believed that Ultraclean hand soap is much more fficient in reducing germs because of its concentrated solution. But in his conclusion he did not mention about the concentration of that Ultraclen soap. There is no clearity reagrding the concentration of the soap. As it is evidenced from the prompt that a concentrated solution of Ultraclean provided better outcome than other contemporary hand soaps then it can be conjectured that the conclusive Ultraclean soap will be high in concentration. But what is the guarantee of it being high in concentration? What if the users use the Ultraclean soap in low concentration and might not be advantaged at all than the currently available ones? As the author did not provide any distinction about the concentration of the Ultraclean in his conclusive sentence, the argument is succumb to misinterpretations and that is why the argument short of conclusive evidences.

Second to count is that - the director believes the reduction in infection and bacteria have been the upshot of using the Ultraclean. But what if the director is precluding the improved environment of the hospitals? What if the environment has been largely improved by the authority of those hospitals as they might take necessary measures to reamin it in sound environment. And becasue of the improved health condition of the hospital the health condition of the patients is also improving. If that is the case then it might make the appreciation of Ultraclean soap suspicious. Might be the case that the overall quality of the soaps used in the hospitals has not been changed at all and the doctors and nurses might be in the midst of an experimental research regarding the psyche of the hospital officials. So, if any of these cases are true then it will be tough to come into a straighforward conclusion of the productivity of Ultraclean soap.

Thirdly, the director assumed that the Ultraclean soap will be equally effective for the visitors of the hospitals, given that the soap is quite worth of use in hospitals. The director ignores the otherwise case - what if the the soap is not equally effective towards the visitors? As the Ultraclea soap is mainly used by the doctors, patients and nurses so it might not faulty keep that - the soap is quite effective when it comes to the germs and bacterias; inside of the hospital. Might not necessarily be same for an outside germ or bacteria, came inside with the visiotors. Also, there is no proven evidence of the effectiveness of the soap regarding the outside bacterias and germs from the side of the director. So, this lack of evidence is also open to dispute. If the worst case is turned out to be true then it might be hard for the director to suggest the soap to use in all the hospitals as it hardly make the situation better. Also, the director lack of necesary examples and evidences make the suggestions of using Ultraclean vulnerable to any personal advantage from the side of the director. What if the director has been accounted being the ambassedor of the brand of the Ultraclean soap and that is why he is trying to promote that brand into his hospitals too. The prompt has not been provided with any kind of evidence regarding preclusion of this fact and that is why the suggestion of Ultraclean might be interpreted in such way which has nothing to do with the worth of the product.

So, looking at all the menioned points it would not be a bad idea to assess all the situations carefully before coming into a solid conclusion as they director is not so much sound in his reasoning.