The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt suggests the idea of the owner to discontinue the stocking of various forms of chesse and encourage only to concentrate on the domestic ones. Though the onwer shared important logical reasoning, there are certain logical flaws in the premises of the argument; which are here to be mentioned only to be followed by sufficient clarifications.

To begin with - the author referenced - that their "best-selling cheese" chesse for the last year was the five types of domestic cheddar chesses, in order to solidify his idea to concentrate more on the domestic chesses. His assumption comes only through the invocation in the World Magazine about the rise in preference of the domestic chesses among the subscribers. Not showing any acumen, he has taken the idea for granted. However, what is the evidence that the World Magazine has not published the preference for their own advantages? It might be the case that the magazine has been paid hugely by the domestic chesse seller for referencing their advertisement which might help their moribund business to rise up again. We can not dissolute the possibility that the domestic cheesses might no be the topmost ones in the preference charts of the retail consumers and that is why the seller of the domestic ones might take some shrewed steps to take the attention of the consumers who buy those chesses from them. If that is the case then the idea of the owner might not hold any truth.

The second to come with is that - that there last year all five best selling were the domestic chesses from Wisconsin - can not ensure that the preferences of the customeres in the coming times will be the same. It might be the case that - in the previous year they had been bored with the domestic chesse and that is why this year (the following one) the demand of the imported ones become high. Now, only concentrating on the domestic chesses might cause the business of the owner to fall when there will be rise in the demand of imported chesses; as relatively less concentration might waste those chesses, providing that there will be sahrp increase in the demand of foreign chesses. Good way to predict some part of the idea is to go by statistics and history. If the owner goes through the previous three or five years or more history or any typoe of statistics of the demand of the chesses in his region, he will get some good idea how the demands of his customers are changing. From that idea he could implement some measures in his decision. However, no evidence of previous records or any sort of statistics has been provided in the prompt; only making coming to a concrete decision harder.

Another conjecture of the owner is that - only by concentrating on the domestic chesse will begets him more profits in coming days. The irony is that he is missing some good balance in his idea. Even it is assumed that there will be surge in the deman of the domestic chesse, then what is the guarantee that ther customers will only buy those chesses from their stocks? What if the competition among the stocks of the domestic chesse becomes very high that they lag behind although recording top-five best selling in their earlier times? Would it not be better to maintain a balance between the domestic and the foreign chesses? Probably yes. Might be the case that all the stocks will follow the same reasoning of the owner and so they might replenish all the imported chese from their stocks. But the owner's one might make huge profit from only selling the imported chesses that they retained in their store, providng that the surge happens in the foreign chesse, not for the domestic ones.

So, looking at all the points and resoning menioted earlier it might not be a good idea to come to a conclusion; based on numerous logical and critical flaws. That is why sufficient evidences with answering the questiones asked in the essay might help the owner to come to a better conclusion than earlier.