The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

"In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt suggests the idea of the group of Linford College alumni to require students to complete an internship with Skyway Design before graduation for certain reasons. Although the letter has been provided with ample of reasons, many of those are inflicted with flawed assumptions. These premises are to be mentioned here followed by necesary clarifications.

First of all, the letter believes that - the other 60% students who did not do an intership with the Skyway Designs had not been provided with good jobs. But what if the speculation is not proper? It can be the case that all of those students had been offered with some great jobs even though they had not done the intership with Skyway Design. It can also be the case that those studetns might have done intership with better art and design company than Skyway Design and so might have landed better jobs than the other 40% students. Although, none of these are mentioned in the prompt, it does not preclude the possibilites also. Nowhere in the prompt it is said that - the other 60% students did not get jobs of their worth or they got lower reputated ones compared to the 40% students who had done internship with the Skyway Design. So, there is a lack of information adn reasoning in the prompt and so it makes the conclusion of the letter to be somewhat skeptical.

Second conjecture by the letter to be pointed out is that - the quality of the Skyway Design is still the same as it was before the "recent survey". Moreover, the prompt did not mention the exact timingof conducting the survey - as "recent" might imply five years or seven years or two years from present or so on. Nevertheless, two years or five years are more than enough time for a company to detoriate. It might be the case that the Skyway Design might have losen their demand in design works becasue of their non-professionalism in recent years. Or they might have losen the demand because of the arrival of a new and more equipped and sophisticated design company. Because of these the company might not provide its intern with that much possibility of jobs after graduation as it had been providing in the past. As a result, it might not be a great idea to continue with Skyway Design only based on their earlier reputation for good works and without properly navigating there current situation and demand in the market; requiring greater evidences and information. If any of the possiblites are proved to be true then it will make the argument of the letter to choose Skyway Design to be a faulty one.

Third of all the premises the letter had conveyed is that - the Skyway Design covers all the departments of design also with ample capacity for each of the department. What if the company does have the varities in departments but does not have enough capacity for a larger amount of students of the same department. For example - if the company has A,B,C departments and the majority of the students of the mentioned college have proclivity towards the A department then what is the guarantee that the Skyway Design can include all of those students in the same A department? It could be the case that the each department of Skyway Design has only 20 students to accomodate and the number of students to join only department A is 50. As a result the company might not able to accomodate all of those students into theri respective fields, making them to choose other fields or not join them. However, any evidence reagrding the capacity of the company has been mentioned in the prompt and so makes the interpretation wide open to be skeptic. If the incapacity of the company is proved to be true then it will and surely hamper the arguments of letter recommending most of the students to do internship in Skyway Design.

So, looking at all the points and factors aforementioned, it can be safely stated that - more related evidences and proper reasoning are needed to come to a concrete conclusion as most of the assumptions underlie the letter have been devoid of critical reasoning and blighted with flawed reasoning, resulting in a faulty conclusion.