The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

"In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agree that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford`s graduating art students had completed an internship. SkyDesigns, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student`s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter given to the chair of the art department gave a detailed explanation on the benefits of an internship at the local Skyway Designs company. However, the arguments are hardly sufficient to support an universal requirement of internship, and more research has to be done before such a bold regulation is put into effect.

Firstly, the effects of such an internship program on the future careers of graduated students is to be highly questioned. Even though 90 percent of students agree that participation helped their career chances, the minority that disagree cannot be left unconsidered. If only 40 percent of students can complete an internship, it is likely an arduous task for most, and may adversely affect students plans if the programs are to be enforced. Further all, companies in the labor market value an internship experience partly because the extra effort proves diligence and ability, a concept quite distant from something routine to all students. Without the responses from companies, it cannot be ascertained whether an obligated internship program would help or not.

Another break in the chain of reasoning is about the benefits of this given company. Assuming SkyDesigns is willing to accept swathes of students into their internships is already a bold assertion, as students applying for internships is the norm, and it would be inappropriate without entry filters of any kind. Even in the unlikely case that the companies many departments found the place for the students to join, not all of the students would find the policies of the company to their liking. Overall, the decision to fit everyone into the same routine is indeed a strange one, and some other reason must be given for this to be considered.

The final problem is with the company itself. According to the passage, in the nearby city of Linford it is one of the most successful design companies. However, without other references, the actual state of the company is difficult to pinpoint. If there are few designing opportunities in Linford, these accomplishments may not mean much in a wider point of view. The programs they offer are supposedly flexible, which is undoubtedly necessary for a student with much work to be done before graduation, but this flexibility is pointless if the hours are too long to be acceptable. More direct benefits to applying students must be given, such as unique opportunities to learn designing that are unavailable in class.

All in all, the arguments given to the art department needs to be much refined before it is convincing.