The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

"In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agree that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford`s graduating art students had completed an internship. SkyDesigns, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student`s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation suggests that all students in the Linford College should be required to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation. However, there are three questions need to be answered. Otherwise, the recommendation will be doubted.

First, whether the departments of Skyway Designs are suitable for all the studen in Linford College? Because we know that many companies have their own preferance. Some may focus on modern designs while others focus on traditional designs. So even they can offer interships in all of their departments, there is a risk that their interships are not suitable for all the art students. For example, if Skyway Designs is a company focus on modern designs, the students majoring in traditional designs will find that their interships can not help them after graduation. The HR will ask them why they have interships which have noting to do with their major. So unless the company can provide evidence that its interships are suitable for students in all majors, the art department can not require all students to complete an intership.

Second, flexible working hours can not make students manage their studies and interships easily. It's better for the recommendation to point out whether this company accept working during night. Because we know that students usually have lots of classes to take during the daytime, it's impossible for them to go to the company and be absent on their classes. And many companies offer flexible woorking hours, but their intern students should work during the daytime, which means it's ridculous for a college student. If Skyeway Designs allow students to work during the night, everything will be fine for most of the students. The college usually has a little night classes, and students can have spare time to finish the internships in Skyway Designs.

At last, I wan to point out that the information the recommendation gives to us is not enough to make sure that such a internship can help students after their graduation. It should tell us whether Skyway Designs is famous all around the country or not. Because we know that many student may deside to live Linford City and seek for a job in a distant place. If Skyway Designs is only famous in this city since they work well in Linford. But if they are not famous all over the country, the experience of having a intership in Skyway Designs can not help those students who want to work far away from Linford.

In summary, while I fully understand the reason behind the recommendation. I withhold my approval of the recommendation until they can provide clear answers to the above questions.