The following is a recommendation from the city manager of Bridge Bay.

Last year, the number of visits to our local beach in Bridge Bay was 50 percent lower than the year be. Early last year we ended our contract with Arko Trash Collection, a company that had serviced local garbage collection for the past twenty years. We switched at that time to Satellite Waste Corporation, another trash collection company. In nearby Ocean Harbor, where Arko has continued to provide garbage collection, the beaches are experiencing record levels of attendance. Meanwhile, in Bridge Bay, complaints about garbage on our beach have increased this year. Clearly, inadequate garbage collection on our beach by Satellite has led to the significant drop in visitors. Therefore in order to restore visitor numbers to our local beach, we recommend resuming our contract with Arko as soon as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this recommendation suggested to the city managers about the influence of the change in garbage collection contracts. This hypothesis on the reason of the decrease of visitors is worthy of investigation, but further evidence is needed before it can be ascertained.

Firstly, this letter pointed out that the change in contract happened early last year. As a matter of fact, this coincides with the significant drops in visitors this year, and since changing contracts have never happened in twenty years, this is presumably an important factor in the demise of local tourism. However, the two things happening simultaneously is insufficient as evidence. Instead, more needs to be learned, including the exact differences between the working standards of the two companies.

Another part of the argument in use is the comparison between the two tourist attractions. In the nearby Ocean Harbor, no change had been done on the provider of trash collection services, and the number of visitors increased to record numbers the previous year. This contrast between the two locations would not be effective, however, since they do not satisfy the statistical requirements of being mutually independent. One possible explanation is that other factors improved the attraction of Ocean Harbor to visitors, and as general tourism is limited in its scope, less would be willing to come to the similar Bridge Bay, regardless of the actual state of affairs here. The joint numbers of visitor to the two different locations should be collected, and if an inverse correlation is present, this is strong evidence that the competition between the two sites is what truly affected the visitor volume. If this were indeed the case, the right thing to do is to figure out novel ways to gain the attention of the external world of visits.

Finally, the complaints about the untidiness of the current beach is indeed proof that better cleaning services are required. Nevertheless, even with no change in contracted services, or any change in the state of the beach, persistent garbage on the beach severely affects nearby residents, and the complaints would be likely to pile up. The reason for such a bold switch to another servicing company must have been important, however, and switching back would be just as problematic, especially since the evidence on bad service is still close to nonexistent. Even if another contract change is eventually deemed necessary, it would be wise to search for a company that is willing to solve the long-standing issues of the beach in Bridge Bay.

Considering the above reasoning and the arguments provided in the recommendation, it is true that the services of the new Satellite Waste Corporation is likely insufficient for the needs of the local beach. However, is is unreasonable to suggest that a switch back would be effective, and new attractions would probably be needed for visitors to return.