Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Ever since the creation of the test as a means of differentiating the performance of students, better grading have been a major goal in student's learning. Despite the proven importance of these tests as an open and fair trial, the over-competition for the best grades have created myriads of problems, sometimes even undermining the learning efficiency of the students.

The most obvious problem for competition of grades is how it takes up time that could be better spent elsewhere. With most test formats, the differentiation of students is only focused on the average student, and it becomes ever harder to discern different capabilities among well-learners. Accordingly, the competition created by tests among well doing students is almost always fruitless, as studying the same subjects within the area of the tests quickly show marginal effects. The only possible outcome for these kinds of competitions is to have the top students gain impossibly high grades, making the differentiation of students even harder.

Although it may be less obvious, the problems of competition among average or below average students also affect their academic performance in the long run. The typical students has only a limited patience for schoolwork, and large amounts of repetitive work necessitated by preparing for tests severely cuts into this total. Also, precious time is lost in the preparation that can be spent in much more efficient ways, such as the learning of knowledge not usually taught at school. The increase in the width or depth of knowledge is critical in the development of one's views towards knowledge, but competing for better scores allows for neither. Instead, huge pressure is applied to students that are average or below-average in their performance, to improve and be set apart from their peers, adversely affecting mental and physical health.

Finally, the competition for higher grades limits the education quality as a whole. Grades are always a means rather than an end to itself, but teachers, students, parents and educational institutions entrenched in the concept of better scores often forget this. The goal of good grades is a vague one, and everyone participating in the act of education cannot empower themselves efficiently, especially if the said scores are not achieved. Eventually, students would have to leave school and join the society as a whole, and the years that are spent on over-competition may be less useful that many would think.

Summing the above, competition for better grades severely limits the quality and efficiency of learning across many different levels of education, and a better way of measuring the capabilities of students is well needed.