The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt urges that the primary goal of technological advancement is ought to augment people's leisure time by increasing their efficiency. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly disagree" with the concept and so hereby I am obliged to provide necessary point of views in defense of my position.

In the very beginning we have to critically analyze what technological advancement actually means. Is it only the sophistication of people's in field of science and engineering or it has to do something with the intelligence and cognizance of mass people. In context of the prompt technological advancement indicates the development in the field of technology and science in order to expediate the mundane works more precipitately. Another prospect of technological advancement is to increase the chances of knowing the unknown, disclosing what was once unprecedented. Aim of technological advancement can be subdivided into two categories. First of all - to help people to reduce their energy in mundane works that sometimes can be extremly dull and second one is to make the way more pervasive for innovation which in return provides more advancement in that respective field. For example - in earlier times people will take hard labor to carry heavy burdens or task by them. However, innovation of wheel really decreased much of their labors and in return people of that times invested more of theri energy into more productive fields, such as - harvesting crops, making houses, hunting and so on. This is one outocme of technological advancement. Another prospect is - aftermath the innovation of wheel, people became more creative in their thinking regarding carriage of heavy burdens and so they push themselves for another innovation and eventually they succeeded in innovating automobiles. Here the second example is the result of the cognitive developement which is precipitated by the innovation of wheel and can be identified as the evidence of the axiom - "advancement begets advancement".

As the prompt suggested that - the fundamental purpose of technological advancement is to augment people's leisure by providing more efficiency - is a oximoron by itself. How can person be more efficient by having more leisure time? It can be. But it surely not the primary purpose of the technological advancement. Initially people inclined to to make their life easier so that they can conduct more productive works rather than being exigent in some heavy or leastly dull works, not so - that they can have sufficient time to chill out or be inactive. For example - the innovation of mobile phone is not to increase the leisure time of people by letting them playing in the phone. Yes, all thesehas come with the innovation but it was not the main idea behind the sophisticated work. The prime focus of the innovation of mobile is to lessen people's time and efforts to have a mutual exchange of information which was once very painstaking as people has to go out by themselves and convey the messages. This caused huge time and ahrd works of the then people and as a result their prior and princciple goals reamin indolence or did not get deserved output. By providing mobile phones people can use it in their way and do communication more easily than before. Consequently they can give more priority and efforts to their prime focus ratehr than wasting the same in the mere communication. So, it is evident that prime focus of technological advancement is quite different from the mentioned one in the prompt.

Counterintuitive idea can be that - if people could not get the leisure time or enough free time from the technological advancement then what is the use of it? As it si evident that the productivity of people has increased over time because of the innovation of many technological things it is also true that - technology has also brought many by-products as blessings for the layperson. Playing games, having quality time with family, making life easier than before are many of those. However, all of these are not the prime reasons behind the innvoation of techonological arguments - gaining expediancy it was. So, telling that augmentation is the aim of technological advancement might undercut the sole direction of the adavancement. Anotehr thing is that - the purposes of these technological sophistications are actually varried with people's motivationa dn priorities. There are people who will want to make full use of their leisure time and there will be ones who would like to give more time to theri families.

So, looking at the points mentioned above it can be properly said that - the sole purpose advancements in technology is to lessen the hard works of people, not to increase the leisure time; the by-product of the sophistication.