The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

To the given prompt it is argued from the council of Maple County to prevent the developement of new housing in order to prevent the overdevelopement of the country - will result in increment of price of houses. Both the proponents and opponents have been introduced in the prompt; however, neither of those are holding firm conducive result for the Maple council to take any decision. Necessary assumptions are underlied the argument of the council's proposal; such as -

1. The council is taking the "overdevelopment" decision with regarding only to the infrastructure development of the country.

2. It is necessary to prevent the development of the housing land in order to thwart the same of the county.

3. The members of the council assumed that preventing the development of the existing farmland will result in the price hike of residential houses.

4. People of the Maple County are not solvent enough to buy houses for their incentives.

Before coming to a certain discloser these assumptions are to be addressed with clearity and logically.

To begin with - the development of a county is not solely based on the structural development of the county. It can be obvious that a county is having a great development of its roads and highs, its buildings and hotels. However, these are the "one of the parameters" but not all to discern whether a county is overdeveloped or not. What if the county has conducted foreign affairs to mantain a better roadside and highway safety or infrastructure - which we can see in ample for many developing counties. If that is the case, then it will might not be a real idea that the Maple City is already overdeveloped.

Then comes- even if it is firmed that the Maple County is overdeveloped- then will it be good idea to put a restriction on the housing practice? The prompt does not give clear idea about the population of the Maple City. If the county's population to farmland ratio is poor then it might be good choice to put a break on the residential development. Howver, if the alternative is true then it might not be great idea to do it. So, more information is required to see off this assumption from the consideration.

After that, both from the proponents and the opponents of Chestnut County and Pine County respectively- the later has been tried to be analogous to the Maple County. But the council is missing an important point here, that is to say - the per capita income of that county might not be same or even lower than that of the Maple County. If that is not the case - then there might be no harm to accept the analogy. But if the case is otherwise - then the council will nothing but have to repredict.

Looking over all the factors presented above it might not be a good idea to ignore certain implicated assumptions and it is necessary to get clear pictures of these before coming to any certain conclusions.