The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt suggests that the main benefit of studying the history is to rescind the matter that - people of the respective times are significantly different from those of contemporaries - which is nothing but people of both times are similar to one another irrespective of the time interval - in simple words. However, for some obvious reasons I would like to "mostly disagree" with the statement and hereby I am obliged to provide necessary elaborations of certain points in defense of my position.

To begin with - in the midst of various benefits of studying history - one is to gain knowledge about the customs, cultures and mindsets of then people. When a person introduced himself or herself with the ancient regulations and livelihood of earlier people he or she certainly becomes a native one of them. Because history provides a person with the views and values of the contemporary people, he or she becomes more comfortable to understand those respective people. Now, the interesting fact is - to decide whether the people of earlier times are different from those of recent times or not - depends on the person himself; in a broad an open view. But there are some parameters upon which we can based our reasoning. For example - if we judge the discrepency among those people based on their physical morphology we will see that there are no difference in the concrete structure - at least in macro level. That is to say - everyone has one head, two hands, two eyes and so on. However, if you look at micro levels we can spot many many pithy differences. For example - the weather of subcontinent has gone through drastic change over the 100 years of overhaul. As we can the weather of a certain place impinges upon the customs and cultures of the natives of those places; we can easily derive the fact that - the common trites of that place will be much different from the earlier one; commonly about 100 years ago. Most of the people at that time in the subcontinent might be much more taller and stronger than recent ones or may not be. May be they were colonial at hat time but now they are not. Similarly there are tons of differences in the common trites and customs of people of the same geographic area because of time disparage; we can learn through history.

Another difference we can look out for is the change in the psyche of mass people at that times compared to the recent ones. It is very much possible that people of earlier times have totally different mindsets and views compared to us; because of that fact that - contemporary power, weather, customs, environment and many more elements are the deciding factors of the peoples' psyche. It is pretty much obvious - can be even vadlidated from the history - that people may regard the same things or matters with so much importance than we do now. Also, there is a possibility that they do the otherwise. But still there exists some kind of discrepency. For example - in many developing countries it was believed that there is no term such as marital rape. Husbands had the freedom to bring their wives into intercourse irrespective of their (wives) consent in earlier times. But now time has changed. People in those countries has evolved into a more civilized one; they are learning and being educated they can discern the wrong and the right. That this prowess over females in marital intercourse is a crime and should he be penalised or not is the question of today's world. So, the people of modern times are asking questions; through education and this is a great evidence for identifying the fact that people of earlier times are actually different from recent ones.

In spite of presenting the resoning above, it might be told that - there are also a lot of similarity among the people. However, we can not disregard the idea but it still hold the firmness that studying history actually tells us how different people are from their ancestors.