The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The prompt supports the idea that restricting water flow throughout all the twelve buildings will help the owner of the apartments to gain more profits as sampled from their expereince of the first theree buildings. Although the owner tried to provide necessary insights of his logics in the prompt, however much of the logical flaws are inflicted within the premises of the arguments; which are to be mentioned followed by clarifications.

To begin with - the concept that there will be sufficeint saving in the water consumption as well as in the costs with respect to conjectures might not be a good one to have. There is no guarantee that the water flow level will change after the implications; at least nothing has mentioned in the prompt regarding that. It is assumed that as the corporation will benefit from the less usage of water by the dwellers; from which they can gain extra profits by maintaining the same cost even after the modifications. But is there surity that the water will not be spared by the residents in otehr purposes? For example - dwellers of that complex apartments might not complain about the less water flow but have started to use more water for different chores and domestic purposes. Might be the case that the residents are not satisfied with the less waterflow and are consuming more water than before for serving it later. May be in those cases - the ultimate plan of the owner might be overhaul to a failed one.

Another assumption of the owner which is somewhat complimentary to the formerly mentioned one, is that - whether or not - any kind of complaint has been filed or not; the passage does not provide clear concept of this. If no sufficient complains are filed against this restrained water flow then the residents might not have difficulties to deal with. However, if there are any, may be in the coming days, then- it might force the owner to change it into previous form. Apart from that - it might not presumptuous to expect that the water level and availability of water for the residents might not be same althroughout the year. May be in the winter days the water might flow even slower than before because of caught up in the form of ice. In that times - complains might be surged against the restrained water flow. Then the owner might have to force the change into the maximum one, let alone thinking about making profits.

Also important to mention that - the owner is hoping that - as there is no problem, as far as the residents' concern over the slow flow in the three building, so they can imply the same strategy for the other twelve buildings. However, before complying this the owner must be sure about some factors. What if it is found out that the restrained flow of water is much more slower than he expected in the twelve building? Might be the case that people of one building are using more water than other and so the slower flow is actually causing problems for them. The pipes or the paths or the junctures the water will follow for the transportation might not be equally effective for all the buildings - some of those may be still robust or some of those might be very fragile; in which cases the slower flow will be even slower. If these factors are not considered properly then there might be good chance of getting complains against this slow flow of water in showerheads while all the implimentions for the twelve buildings are done. In that case the owner may not able to extract profits as he previously cherished.

So, looking at all the factors and points aforementioned, it can be safely said that - without sufficient measures and assurance - it might not be good for the owner to implicate the same for the twelve buildings as he had done for the other threes. However, to come to a certain conclusion - he has to answer the asked questions in the essay with proper evidences.