The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt suggests the idea of the budget planner to cancel the funding for the Grandview Symphony in order to prevent the deficit of the city's economy with several points mentioned for his argument. However, most of his assumptions are inflicted with logical flaws and so are need to be reasoned critically, These flawed premises of the arguments are mentioned here followed by necessary clarifications.

First of all, the planner believed that - the private contributions and concerts for the Grandview Symphony, although been doubled, are enough for not sanctioning the fund for the symphony. What if that does not stand true? It might be the case that because of the doubled attendees and concerts the cost of performing and other accessories have also doubled, or in fact multiplied several times than it was anticipated. For which even 200% increase in the private donations might not help to sustain the cost. Also, we can ignore the vulnerability of the contribution of the private contributors. There might not be any necessary limit below which no contribution can be considered and so the most of the contributions contributed are of very little monetory value that hardly meets the expenses of the symphony and as a resukt might require more of those. However, this possibility of low contributions can not be outplayes as the planner has not provided anough evidence to preclude the possibility. And if the possibility is happened to be true then then argument of the planner would be a flawed one.

Second assumption to consider is that - the planner believed that - the increment in the price of the ticket of the symphony will be enough to rescind the fund for the symphony. But what if the planner is excluding the possible external costs associated with the symphony that had also been increased recently? It might be the case that the symphony has changed some of their casts and musicians and has appointed some more prominent and renowned ones to perform; demand more salary than the previous ones. As a result, to meet the demand of the newly casts and also not to compensate that with the current viewers - the symphony has increased their ticket prices. It might not be true or might be as the planner did not mention anything which will help us to preclude the idea of inclusion of new casts in the symphony. And so, it can be excluded straight way and that is why - the inclusion, if true, might force the planner to reconsider his arguments.

Third of the premises from the planner is that - the seemingly developement of the symphony is evident and so does not require any further funding. But what if because of earning more audience and demand from their listeners - they are taking some necessary measures to meet those deamands to continue their popularity. Without meeting those demands the orchestra might loose the popularity and thereby might require the funding, provided that they are not necessarily in demand of it now. Also, it is in good shape in present that does not necessarily implies that it would remain until the next year. It might happen that the symphony had failed to meet the demands of their audience and so had been left out with only a few ones to earn some meager amount to run their perform. In that case - the government will have to provide the promised amount of fund. Also, there is no clear mention that - increment in audience, private contribution and hike in the price of the symphony's ticket can or have ensured the success of the orchestra. The good times of the symphony might not be the same after one year from now on and the prediction of the planner might not be happened to be true. In that case - the idea of cutting the allotted fund for the symphony will be a flawed one to consider, providing the vulnerability of the symphony in future prospect.

So, looking at all the aforementioned points and factors, it would be clearly stated that - the planner requires more evidence and proper answers to the asked questions in order to consider his arguments from various aspects; without which any conclusion will not be a concrete one to consider as the prompt is devoid of these.