The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The excerpt is proving to mandate the learning of computer programming skill for all high school students. Their prime reason for making this obligatory step is the upsurge of software engineering and computational skills in recent times. However the assumptions that have been incorporated here are as follows -

1. That the students taking the classes will be able to join the jobs paying high salaries and will lead fulfilling lives.

2. Have ignored the speculations of individual's passion and take a generalization for the future prospect.

3.That learning coding will eventually help them in any sphere of life irrespective of their professions.

4. It is a mandatory for one to learn coding in bachelor in a view to earn greater in real life.

All the aforementioned assumptions are implicitly provided in the prompt, however, these assumptions must be given certain fate to come to any conclusion.

To begin with - It is readymadely believed that students who will take computer classes in their four-year bachelor classes will earn in gloat. If that is the case then why students of other faculties are not doing the same? If earning is that much easy then the graduate students of other genres would have lived lavish lives as they were also compelled to learn their courses in the schools. But we can see that is not the case. Rather proper guidance, passion for their respective subjects and working diligently will do the work.

Coming then, even if we assume that there will be available jobs in future in the field of software engineering or data science, does it suffice enough to convince an authority to make it an obligation for the students. As the vacancies are increasing so are the competitions. A student has to be competent enough to compete with others and grab the job. And for that one has to learn the coding by heart under proper guidance and with best possible resources. But in the prompt there is no evidence that the school is going to provide the students with enough good resources and also there is no proper guidelines of teaching. That is why only mandating a subject to learn for the students without ensuring good enough teachings stuffs and materials, will not only be waste of time effort for the teachers and also a burden for the students.

One of the most important points that the school is missing is that each and every individual may not be interested in learning coding. One may not like to learn coding than to painting. For him learning coding will nothing but an upheaveal task, and consequently we can not expect a much potent result from as we can do from a passionate well learned student of programming. In that case, whatever opportunities of coding are in front him, he won't feel the appetite for any of those.

Finally it is believed by the authority of the school that a four year of coding syllabus is a necessary one for an individual to shine. But they are missing the fact that learning early does not mean learning enough for learning properly. What if a student who learnt the coding later than an earlier one but solved problems more efficiently?

So looking overall points it won't be a nice idea to come any conclusions before answered the questions and act with proper bounds.