The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

As our future will be dominated by technology, it is inevitable that our education system which is archial, should focus on technology and prepare the students to work in the real world with their computer programming skills that they have learnt in their schools. Following are the notions that weaken the statement made by the School Board about the change to the curriculum.

Firstly, it is assumed that every field in this world revolves around programming. It is true that most of the fields for jobs around this world would need technology to function but it is not always true that it requires programming specifically. For example, people within the Software Industry who are Managers, Scrum Masters, Product Owners have little to no knowledge of programming and they are more highly paid than the developers who code. Not only in the software industry people working in multiple other jobs are paid higher than programmers. For instance, though unconventional, a Singer who can potentially become a pop star uses technology to make songs and can earn millions of dollars which more than what a programmer can earn in their entire life. Now a days, Social Media Influencers, Gamers earn in lumpsum amounts, so it is not always true that one should know how to code to get high paying jobs.

Secondly, not every student is interested in programming. As we know that techonology can be utilised in unenumerable ways. Such as a Graphics Designer can use multiple software tools to make a high paying job out of it and it would not require programming at all, or Music producer, who can make tunes with the use of music making software tools and would not need to code. The school board should acknowledge the fact that the students might have multiple interests even with regards to technology and provide them with classes which are not particularly about coding. So, it is not always true that software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries.

In conclusion, we can say that even though technology plays a vital role in every aspect of our lives and that training to program in school can benefit the students in many ways. It is important for the School board to consider all the various sides of technology let alone programming, and give the opportunity to the students to explore their interests in technology and get them fulfilling jobs ecomically and also mentally satisfiable. The statement of the School Board is flawed in it's current form and would need a re-evaluation before taking any decision for the betterment of the students.