The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author draws out that students pursuing other careers will also benefit by programming given that all industries are becoming more technological. This conclusion is predicated on flawed assumptions and insufficiently supported. In order to evaluate the author's remark on his observation, more evidence is required.

The author begins by mentioning that future will be dominated by technology, and making 4 year computer programming must for the high school students. The author is making a falsely assuming computer programming to be the sole technology that is dominating the world and the future. However, there is no evidence provided by the author that supports this claim. If the author provides data on the number of industries belonging to different domains such as mechanical, aeronautical, cosmetics etc. having implemented programming technology and also promulgating this approach of problem solving in their respective domains would support as an evidence for his claim. Therefore, without having clear data and supporting evidence, the author's claim cannot be properly evaluated.

Moreover, if students take programming classes, they'll be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries is also predicated on false assumptions. However, not all students would want programming jobs for their interest may lie in different domain which would also lead to high paying job. The author assumes that prospects of data scientist and software engineer has best salaries. There is no evidence as to what salary on an average a data scientist makes per year. If at all they make more, is it relevant to suggest that all students taking classes on computer programming will be better equipped themselves with knowledge to get these high paid jobs? Also, if programming jobs are not highly paid compared to other mechanical jobs then it would not be feasible to mandate programming classes on the high schools students. Therefore, with lacking fundamental aspects and insufficient evidence, the author's claim is not valid to evaluate.

Additionally, the author also states that, students pursuing other careers can also benefit with the programming classes. However, there is no evidence provided by the author on what basis he assumes this statement to be true. If the other domains such as mechanical or aerospace industries were using programming concepts in managing, storing and regulating data and also to run their organizations by providing client based services using programming knowledge, then such an evidence would act as a support, if not otherwise, for the author's argument that programming indeed helps in other careers as well. Therefore, without having supporting evidences the author's claim in invalid and cannot be evaluated thoroughly.

While, the author's thought on implementing computer programming classes for the benefit of the student is laudable, but the supporting evidences required to draw the conclusion is insufficient. Therefore, with the evidences as discussed, it is possible to evaluate.