The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Our life is a journey that takes turns as and when we make choices. These choices will if not immediately, takes time to reflect the consequences, either good or bad as per our own decisions. Our character is built by our ability to differentiate between the positive and the negative while making a wiser choice that can impact us and the people around us and also by some of the external factors like family, peers, society etc. that renders some of the qualities into us. The best way these factors can affect our positive character is by praising our positive actions than the negative ones while not completely ignoring our negative actions but by curbing to learn from them.

While when we were kids, the school, teachers and our parents played important role in shaping our character and behavior. For instance, the teachers kept praising us before an entire class when we got good grades, or performed well in any cultural activities such as playing a musical instrument, staging a play etc. which not only motivated us to perform better but also pushed others to have a hobby and interest, and also to follow such activities. When a subject teacher praised us for getting good grades, it also kept others intact to perform well and receive praise for themselves too. This action although seem very normal, but at that age it acts a force that can change several actions leading to good and productive results in us all. Hence, praising the positive actions leads to better overall development.

Also, our parents are equally responsible for our social behavior and characteristics. In certain circumstance, let’s say, a person doesn’t value deeds of others and also keeps disregarding the work that doesn’t quite match his/her work. This displays a sense of condemnation and selfish acts. Perhaps, he might also disrespect elders etc. which are certain qualities that are nurtured from our childhood. If his/her parents explained him the importance of treating elders with respect, perhaps they praised his actions whenever he did, the kid would assume that to be something to take pride of and follow that action. And his behavioral aspects would have been reversed.

However, ignoring negative actions doesn’t always hold good because of many circumstances that follows it. For instance, ignoring negative actions for a long time might lead to overpowering of certain traits which would become extremely difficult to change. They can even lead an individual to commit antisocial works, like embezzling or robbing people etc. which might have initially followed by stealing from their parents or relatives, which when found out was ignored and not punished. This leads to serious behavioral structure that made him/her to commit more like it. If their parents or relatives had punished and made him/her understand the situation, it would have brought about serious changes by leading them to the opposite shore of thoughts.

While praising positive actions are very much important for an overall development of an individual, it is also necessary to not ignore but help them learn from what might happen to them with their negative actions. Therefore, as discussed in the previous paragraphs regarding the aspects affecting out behavior and character, in summary, praising good actions brings up motivation and interest to keep doing good things while keeping check with the aspects affecting their character with the negative actions without ignoring.