Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leadership is a trait that pushes the ability of an individual or a group to perform with high efficiency along with integrity. This trait can be found in various domains of social, economic, political, technological and other aspects, where a leader corresponds greatly for the results obtained in the specific categories. However, these results depend on the leader's ability to make decisions and cultivate necessary changes to improve the current condition or situation. These can be directly proportional to his/her experience of the past, the learning from the bad decisions or repercussions from the past which contribute to a greater good in the present time.

The leader is always responsible for the outcome of the group, positive or negative. The past experience on certain tasks, let's say while making decisive choices on behalf of the contingent, for the productivity of a condition or state, plays an important role in shaping his/her decisions in the future, while making similar kind of choices. For instance, in a particular circumstance, where a leader has to take quick decisions while taking considerations of all that accounts to a negative or a positive affect to result. If he had encountered similar kind of situation in the past and had a bad experience with the results because of the decision made, he can now learn from the repercussions that resulted with his past decision, and anticipate possible negative impacts and counteract it with makin best decisions thereby becoming astute with his decision making skills.

Similarly, when taking considerations of a global multi-national companies, the leadership plays a very imperative role on the organization's success in terms of profit, productivity etc. When a new leader is elected to take an organization forward, he should have greater understanding of the past of it, such as the policies, portfolio, organizational structure, profit, production range etc. to help the organization prosper. Hence, without having mere comprehension about the past of a company, he cannot be trusted to take further in terms of accomplishments are concerned. Therefore, it is important to have good understanding of the past to become an efficient leader.

However, some might argue that the present circumstances, condition will differ extremely with that of past, therefore having understanding of the past is futile to the current leaders. The circumstances may differ, but the leaders past will only differ him from others in terms of intellectual qualities displayed while growing in an organization. Having made significant contribution to an organization's success with the knowledge and experience make him best suitable for a leadership position.

In summary, it is important to have understanding of the past to make good decisions for a leader.