The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion drawn on the ban imposed by Middletown, and its effect on significant drop on reported incidents of sidewalk crime with almost no complaints is predicated on flawed assumptions and is insufficiently supported. In order to properly evaluate the conclusion drawn by the author, more evidence is required.

The author begins by mentioning a marked increase in sidewalk rage over past three years, and as a result there has been an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. The author provides little to no information on the growth of such accidents from past three years. There is also no evidence as to what property damages were incurred only by sidewalk rage and not by the irrationally angry drivers. For instance, if the growth of accidents significantly increased to say 50 percent over past three years, with an actual figure will provide a stronger evidence of the author's claim. Also, the supportive information on the assaults and property damages, and the amount incurred to resolve such damages will add to author's claim. Without having proper figure on growth of accidents and mentioning of the property damages incurred by sidewalk rage alone, the argument cannot be properly evaluated.

Moreover, usage of cellphones are held responsible for such accidents and author suggest imposing ban on cell phone usage. However, there is precise relation being made by the author to the problem. There is evidence as to how many pedestrians are causing side walk rage, can there be a possible assumption made that no drivers are involved in causing accidents. Without clear insight on what number of people use cell-phones on sidewalk, and on an average how many people use sidewalks on a busy traffic? Without prior figures and insufficient supportive information provided, the argument cannot be evaluated thoroughly.

Additionally, the author also states that imposing ban on cellphones in Middletown caused significant changes with little to no complaints and less incidents reported. However, the author is only comparing the Middletown's traffic conditions and its imposition on ban. There is no proper evidence whether the population of both cities are same? the average number of vehicles in the city compared to that of Middletown's, The conditions that relate directly to traffic such as the number of business firms in the city, which is directly proportional to the population of the city and also to the traffic conditions in the city. With the proper evidence on the demography and economic factors of the both cities, the author's argument can be properly evaluated with the additional supportive information.

While, the author's claim that imposing a ban on cellphones can lead to less sidewalk incidents occurring as in the case of Middletown's hold good only when enough evidence and sufficient information is provided by the author.