The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo recommends using Zeta rather than Alpha for a new building project even with acknowledging that Alpha’s bid promises lower construction. The author’s recommendation is rested on flawed assumptions and is insufficiently supported. In order to examine or evaluate his remarks on his observations, more evidence is required.

The author begins by mentioning that Zeta cost 30 percent more to build than Alpha even with the identical floor plans. The author’s statement is predicated on inefficient information as there is no mention of how much did Alpha building construction costed while comparing the building cost. Without having a proper figure tying this 30 percent to total figure of Alpha company, we cannot determine how much cost did actual incur to build Zeta building because 30 percent more of 100 is significantly lower than extra 30 percent of a million. Without having proper figures tied to the total costs incurred by both companies, the argument fails in its validity to favour Zeta over Alpha.

Moreover, the energy consumption of Zeta building is lower than that of alpha every year since its construction. However, there is no evidence as to what number of energy consumption was less in Zeta than Alpha. Also, there is mention that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. What were the maintenance costs of Alpha buildings prior to last year? How much of energy consumption was addressed by both buildings? What was the average energy consumption over the years? If Zeta building maintenance costs varied much over the years while Alpha remained constant, it would if not otherwise weaken the argument. The author again fails to give proper figure in order to evaluate the statement.

Additionally, the author also claims that Zeta has workforce with little employment turnover. This piece of information has no supporting evidences as to how much workforce was hosted by Zeta building compared to Alpha. What factors affected the workforce to prefer Zeta over Alpha? How much of the workforce means stable as addressed? How little was the employment turnover in Zeta building? If the ratio of workforce to employment turnover of Alpha was greater in the early years of construction, and the ratio of the same in Zeta is only increased recently, will hinder support to author’s argument. These are some questions needed to be answered in order to properly evaluate the argument.

While recommendation of using Zeta rather than Alpha for a building project might hold good considering several factors that were in support of the argument. The author’s suggestion is insufficient enough to support and examine the validity of the recommendation. With the answers to the additional questions discussed in the pervious paragraphs, the argument can be properly evaluated.