Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

People hold up to their values and beliefs strongly, and the very tenacity is what makes their way of living life or holding an opinion on any matter for that fact remains distinct. While, there are some beliefs that contradicts the fact, still some of the people choose to remain reluctant and prejudiced. Not wanting to be corrected or being made unusual remarks on them, for their self respect or ego, they tend to remain intact with their beliefs. Thus, for the majority of the part, arguing on the controversial topics with people having contrasting views is not very useful.

There are always some people who believe weird things that doesn't happen to have strong base or foundation able to be proved. For instance, there are still a part of the population in the world, maybe more or less than the quarter of it, that believe that earth is flat. The fact is not their concern, just because it was believed to be flat by their predecessors or mentioned in their religious book, they tend to believe and follow even with the conspicuous evidences about the space, universe, solar system, the earth being spherical and not flat. This, however, makes no sense, explaining them would nevertheless be useful, for they are adamant with their beliefs.

Similarly, whenever there is controversy on the religious faith and the history of certain civilization or community, there always exits controversial matters that when questioned takes deep turns and effects the community in a way unimaginable. Such a controversy began when a secular party member of the ruling party mentioned a remark stated in one of the religious book about their own prophet consummating marriage with a young girl. This led to catastrophe because, the people who believed the prophet did not accept that it was true, even when it is mentioned in their holy book, instead deemed that remark as derogatory and protested worldwide. When people do not change their minds even when their own belief system knows what's correct, arguing with them would only be a wastage.

While, there are some people who question their authenticity in believing in things that aligns with the fact and not myths. With proper education, the society will have people believe what is true and not what aligns with their imagination which is fictional. Example, people in the ancient times believed that women in a society should not work and only serve men. Now when this belief was questioned, giving rights to women to stand up for themselves, become independent and having equal rights with men, Majority of the men along with women accepted to abolish such a standard or belief set up in an ancient time. Now, with the new generation, there are rather few of them in few areas that believe in ancient philosophy. Therefore, it is possible to change people's belief.

In summary, arguing with people, holding core beliefs, on controversial topics is not very useful because of their reluctance to accept what is true and correct with going against their free will or belief system. However, as discussed in the previous paragraphs, people's belief can also be changed as there are some who can question their authenticity in believing in things.