The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter concludes that limiting the number rentals of moped will reduce moped accidents in Balmer island as similar moped accidents were reduced last year in Seaville town following the council’s enforced limits on moped rentals. The author’s conclusion is predicated on flawed assumptions and is insufficiently supported. In order to proper evaluate the author’s remarks on his observations on the matter, more questions are need to be answered.

The author begins by mentioning that to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of the Balmer island should limit the number of rentals on moped. There is no mention on how many of the accidents are being caused solely by moped and not by any other vehicles in the island. If so, what figure of moped accidents tied to total number of accidents is considered to justify the statement. If the number of moped accidents is comparatively mere to other accidents in the town, then the author’s conclusion is not evidently supported at all to enforce limits on the moped rentals.

Moreover, the author also states the Balmer Island to limit the number of moped rentals by the island’s rental companies from 50 to 25 per day. However, without having proper evidences as to signify the causation of accidents solely by mopeds, as discussed in the previous paragraph, the author is again failing to provide evident support. Although, the population in the Balmer island increases to 100,000 during summer, there is no evidence as to how many mopeds are actually being rented by the populace from the rental companies. Perhaps, the author overlooks the possibility that many mopeds could be owned by residents and not rented from companies. If at all the accidents caused by mopeds are more, then even accounting to reduce the number of rentals will not help, as many of mopeds would still be used by residents, thereby not making significant attempt to change the number of accidents.

Additionally, the author also compares that 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents achieved by Seaville town will also be applicable for the Balmer island. However, the author fails to mention the basis on which this comparison would be viable. What is the population of both the towns? On an average what number of tourists visit Seaville island in the summer, if so, how may mopeds are rented on an average compared to that of Balmer islands. What number of accidents were actually reduced by enforcing limits on moped rentals? There are several factors that can differentiate the two towns. The 50 percent reduction in accidents without tied to proper figure cannot be accounted to consider and evaluate the author’s conclusion. Therefore, without having proper evidences and insufficiently supported statements, the author’s conclusion cannot be substantiated thoroughly.

The author’s implication to reduce the moped accidents by implementing limits on moped rentals by comparing such an effect in the neighboring Seaville town fails to provide additional support to strengthen the argument. However, with the questions answered as discussed in the previous paragraphs, the author’s argument can be properly evaluated.