Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The government officials are elected by people for the welfare of the people. They are elected to perform their obligations accordingly leading to the betterment of the people they serve. However, the officials elected by the people should not always unquestioningly carry out the will of people in order to maintain their trust and loyalty towards them. There also exists certain specific situations where the government officials would also want to rely on their own judgement for the welfare of the community they serve.

The government officials have authority from the government to carry out or perform their necessary obligations in any means that works good for the society. In doing so, they will always gain respect and trust among the people they serve. However, these people entrust responsibilities on the government officials to help them find solution to the problems encountered by them in the society. For instance, if a village is facing issues in transporting or travelling to other cities because of the dilapidated condition of the road, and this issue is brought to notice of this elected government official, then it is his/her responsibility to provide solution by the constructing a new road. Under this circumstance, this problem seems important and genuine to consider and offer a solution. Therefore, without unquestioningly carrying out the will of the people, the official considers the importance of the matter before taking decisions.

Similarly, an official elected by the people can sometimes take decisions which might not be in favor of the people for short time, but might have a significant benefit in the longer run. For instance, a leader, under uncommon circumstances has to make a significant decision on behalf of the people, like allowing the river flow for the neighboring state, which in turn calls out for water shortage problems among the native state residents, but the leader’s decision might have significant role as to establish stronger relation with the neighbor state and help his people enjoy mutual benefits from the neighbor state as improvement in the employment opportunities etc.

Additionally, people will often have different opinions that tend to deviate among themselves in a while. However, if the official is to listen to their will, he would not be able to convince the solution to be in the favor of any of the divided groups with different motives. For instance, if a particular group demands for the agricultural needs and the other group demands for employment needs in a particular village. In such circumstances, the government official cannot listen to both parties, but take a wise decision which favors all, either by discussing the issue with authorities or by analysing the issue himself. Therefore, under uncommon circumstances, the government official will need to rely on own judgement.

In summary, the officials elected by the people should not always unquestioningly carry out the will of people in order to maintain their trust and loyalty towards them. There also exists certain specific situations where the government officials would also want to rely on their own judgement for the welfare of the community they serve as the argument is discussed in the previous paragraphs.