Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The purpose of education differs with the acquaintance of people’s ability to perceive. However, the statement is subject to complexities of discussion as the matter itself generates several circumstances or situations that develop certain beliefs pertinent to certain aspects experienced by people who took education. Mind and spirit need to be aligned for a prospective life. There are many ways to interpret what purpose of the education is served to people. Further discussion is explained in the following paragraphs.

When a certain group of people experience lack of education among their herd and tend to be plummeting with the progression compared to other group that is making progress rapidly with their lifestyle, basic needs, social welfare, public health and safety etc. they will be believing that purpose of education is to derive knowledge for progress. The knowledge acquired from being educated will definitely bring about new perspectives in their life to look at things differently than they did earlier. For instance, this group may be villagers from rural background with poor facilities, poor fund of knowledge on health, safety, people welfare, basic amenities etc. who look at education as a purpose to free their mind their spirit to acknowledge a better range and perspective of looking at things.

The formal education comes with the predetermined educational syllabus that teaches students in a hierarchy manner. For instance, our history books taught us about the certain dynasties, what reforms and policies were set at that period, what caused certain revolutions etc. but mainly including the same history through the years rather the facts that are discovered in recent times, which invalidates such a historical claim thereby needing the history syllabus to change. When students are taught with something that holds invalid even when they demand to change it, there mind and spirit against their will is restrained to study what is taught and not to go beyond it.

There are enormously huge number of people who believe education is restricting our will, mind and spirit to analyse or glean beyond what is taught rather than enabling us to. Also, this case holds true when educational systems work for their own welfare rather than working on student’s welfare. Since, people who have experienced such a circumstance will believe firmly that education is not serving its purpose of enabling us to free our will and mind, rather restraining it. On the other hand, people who suffer lack of education and its positive consequences believe that education as a tool can help them progress beyond their imagination.

However, debating on people’s belief is as subtle as the nuance the statement holds. Therefore, the purpose of education can be extremely different for different groups of people. A poor group would want education for the prosperity, progress etc. and believe that it serves to free the mind and spirit. While the other educated group would feel that education is hindering their ability to learn beyond what is taught, restraining their will, spirit and mind. With the discussions in the previous paragraphs it is a nuance to position or to take a side.