People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

A popular saying which goes, "Listen to your heart" is known to all the people of any age, can be heard all over the world in any language and in any era of the world. But it is not always true to follow your emotions while taking rational decisions in this irrational world. It is because of the following reasons and illustrations.

Emotion based decision making is bad because, it can lead to the wrong decisions. For example, if a judge in a court is biased towards his emotions to support a heinous criminal who murdered many people, because of his compassionate mind and also because of the overtly sentimental actions of the criminal in the court, can cause the judge to make a wrong decision and reprimand an innocent person who did not do any crime but is egregious.

People often make decisions based on emotions and suffer from the consequences of it by making a logical analogy after making the decisions. For instance, if a person who loves photography takes a decision based on his intuition during the turning point of his career to pursue freelancing as his profession even though the economical condition of family is deteriorating, and when he could get a economically sufficient job to support his family. Based on his emotions after taking this decision he might make a logical analogy even in worst conditions and keep pursuing photography making it worse for the family. This can be avoided by making a practical decision and going for a bread winning job and supporting the family and then later on can pursue this passion as a hobby which is a win-win situation on both the parties.

Perhaps it can be possible that in certain situations, emotions can play a bigger part in decision making than thinking rationally. Such as, when a physically handicapped person did something to defend himself from a harmful situation, can be treated differently than a normal person would be treated because of the limitations of the handicapped person. But this can be counter parted by the fact that law treats every person equally without any bias or prejudice and the person who is disabled should also be treated as a normal person would be treated. This type of thinking can ensure that all the decisions are made based on logic and never be conversely interpreted later in the future after the decision is made.