It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

I completely agree with the given prompt. It is always required for students to understand what they are studying rather than learning or memorizing facts. I feel this way mainly because of the following reasons.

Firstly, the whole point of education is to learn and innovate. Teachers expect students to not only learn and understand what they've been taught but also, create new solutions to the problems. For instance, if all the greatest minds on the earth only mugged up facts, we would not be having all the facilities that are in this world right now. People in the past have worked throughout their lives to innovate new solutions to the problems around the world, to make living for humans easier. This is not because they learned some facts. It is because they have experimented with the learnings that they've been taught by their teachers, thought through the learnings, understand them, and eventually achieved their goal of inventing something for the betterment of society.

Secondly, people who actually put some extra effort to learn and understand something they've been taught are the ones who get more respect and live dignified lives. It is evident from the fact that people in this day and age are more respected when they work for a job that teaches them important lessons which they can learn from and apply in their daily lives. These are the people who earn more because they have more thinking abilities, as they not only remember facts but also understand them for doing better at their job. For example, a doctor is always expected to memorize all the medical terms that he has learned during their education. The doctor is not only required to remember facts but also to think smart and should have the ability to treat any patient with his expertise. This can only be possible if the doctor has understood the concepts that he has learned. On the contrary, a nurse or a chemist only memorize the steps they need to follow and are consequently paid low and respected less than the doctor. It can be inferred that people who think deeply about concepts and ideas are well respected and well paid in society.

In conclusion, to be respectable in society by improving thinking abilities which in turn leads to innovation to new solutions to the problems, concepts and ideas which are taught are supposed to be well understood rather than just learning the facts because of the obvious advantages.