Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure
that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all
their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to
assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade
averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers,
looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega
are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a
result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as
have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates
to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student
evaluation of professors.
Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is
needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence
would weaken or strengthen the argument.
The author of the proposal to terminate the student evaluation of the
professors is an interesting argument, although it requires more
information and thoughts to come to a conclusion. While the
correlation stated in the passage are logical and probable, there are
some hidden factors that inhibit the termination of students’ evaluation
of the professors.
First of all, it is assumed that the potential employers looking at the
dramatic rise in the grades of the students of Omega University after
the beginning of the evaluation, have believed that the grades are
inflated. What if the employers stick to the basics of recruitment, that is
to say “Better grades better chances”. What if the employers don’t care
about the recent increase in the grades of the freshers? There might be
a new evaluation process in the Omega University in which the student
have come out nicely with their results and the potential employers
know about this. In fact, the attitude of the employers towards the
freshers might be more inclined, contrasting the attitude mentioned in
the passage.
Secondly, it is assumed that the recent surge in the grades of the
students of the Omega University does not reflect their actual
achievements. It might not be the case if the recent graduates of
Omega University are more serious about their studies than their
alumni. What if the recent batches of the students have achieved
better grades through the same evaluation process because of their
seriousness. If that is the case than there is no harm in believing that
the increment in grades actually follows the pride of the student.
Thirdly and most importantly, it is presumed that the student
evaluation of the professors has connection with the increment in the
grades of the students. Congruently to this view, it is also assumed that
the teachers are giving easy grades to get applause from the students –
which necessarily might not be the case. There is a good possibility that
the professors have started to teach in the class with more care and
seriousness as they will be asked by the authority regarding their
duties. This process might make them more responsible for their job
which ultimately benefits the student and consequently they are
getting good grades in the exam.
Examining all the angles and factors it might not justify to terminate the
evaluation process of the professors by the students. While the
proposal highlights a good possibility of the students to lay down better
jobs, there are still a lot of information required to warrant any action.