The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt supports the idea of the vice-president to build one of their new store in Plainsville, where the residents are more health conscious, in order to gain more profits. Although the vice-president showed scant reasons to establish his view, there are certain logical flaws in the assumptions of the argument, which are to be mentioned followed by necessary clarifications.

To begin with, the vice-president believed that health conscious people will more likely to buy health related products from their stores if they establish a new store in Plainsville. The logic behind the reasoning is sound enough, however, the premises remains vogue. What of there is already numerous number of shops that are well-established by now? It can be the case that those shops are doing monopoly business their and as a result newly formed stores might not be able to gain sufficient profits as they were hoped so. Also, the spaciousness of the to-be-formed store has not been cleared out by the vice-president. What if it turns out to be a very small store which in comparison with the other megashops and shopping malls of Plainsville, quite incompetent to do good business. Even if they produce good products and gets to progress slowly it might take long time to be a fully established store - only from which estimable profits can be earend.

Second to mention, the vice-president guessed that - the wholesome sales and overall purchasement of the exercise equipments are high enough to inspire them. However, in his conjecture - he might have ignored the overall sale of those equipments. What if the merchants had reported the increment of sale of equipments for only the products of a certain brand? What is the guarantee taht only certain types of equipments are sold in high frequency and that too from only a selective shops? And what if those products are far more compatible compared to the "to-be-formed" store? If any of the questions are happened to be answered "Yes" then it might not be a great idea to build up the new store in Plainsville as then the saling will be lot less than their earlier estimation, resulting higher loss and that is why it seized to be a failed project from the side of the vice-president.

Thrirdly - the vice-president premised that - they are going to get more profits in their business because of the interest of the new generations in fitness and health related matter. He conjectured this from the idea of the children being participated in the fitness programe. However, he has neglected the vulnerability of the same children when they will grow up. We can not take for granted the interest of the children will remain same as of now. It might be the case that most of the children have left out those fitness programes. Might be the study pressure of those children will forced them to leave such exercise programes causing reduction in the anticipated customers of the the vice-president of Health Naturally. Consequently he will not get as much profits as he had hoped so. Also, the reinaugurationof the local health club does not certify the fact that the people are going to be maintained those programes for long. At least no such evidences have been proposed by the vice-president. The members of that club might have chosen to join again for any certain purpose or for any functions; going to be end soon and so their endurance of the exercises to continue.

So, looking at all the abovemenioned points, it can be safely drawn out that - necessary evidences are to be provided and providential answeres should be given to the questions with sufficient facts menioning - are only plausible way to come to a certain conclusion.