The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health related products Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in ar

In the memo, the vice president of Health Naturally, which is a chain of stores selling healthy foods and other health-related products, concludes that the next store should be built in Plainsville since the merchant of Plansville has reported that the sale of running shoes and exercise equipment is so high in this region. Moreover, the local health club in Plainville has more members than ever, and also, the weight-training and aerobic classes are always full. Nevertheless, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the author must provide the following three pieces of evidence.

First of all, the vice president did not provide any evidence regarding the rate of healthy-food consumption in this area. The Plansville dwellers might buy exercise equipment and running shoes, but most of them might not be interested in eating healthy food. They may both eat junky food and exercise since they see exercise as a fun activity. If this scenario has merit, the author's assertion that the high rate of buying running shoes or other exercise equipment indicates Plansville's people's tendency toward eating healthy food is significantly hampered.

Secondly, if the number of people cares about their health condition are high in Plansville, there might be plenty of stores that offer healthy food and other health-related stuff. The vice president did not provide any evidence about the number of potential rivals. It is possible that people might prefer to keep buying from local stores rather than a new store. If the number of competitors is high, it is unlikely that Health Naturally could find a vacant place in this demanding market. The argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, it seems rational that the vice president considers the ratio of people who exercise to all people in Plainville. It is possible that this ratio is so low that there is a few gym clubs or aerobic classes in this area. This might explain why these classes are always full. The vice president should provide evidence on the number of people who are potential buyers of healthy stuff and the number of gym clubs. If it is true that a few numbers of people do exercise in this area and aerobic classes and gym clubs are always full because of their low number in Plansville, the credibility of the writer's claim decreases significantly.

To recapitulate, it is possible that establishing a new store in Plainville would provide Health Naturally chain stores with a significant profit since the people in this region take care of their physical health. Nonetheless, as it stands now, the argument relies on three groundless assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the writer must provide additional evidence on three fronts: the rate of healthy-food consumption in Plansville, the potential competitors that may outcompete this store, and the ratio of the number of healthcare people to total people as well as the number of gym clubs and aerobic classes in this region.