The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt ushers that the luxuries and lavishness of contemporary lives prevent people from developing strong and independent ones. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly agree" with the statement and hereby I am obliged to provide necessary points with elaboration in defense of my position.

To begin with - foremost we have to be clear of what does it mean by "strong" and "independent" individuals. In context with general assumptions, strong most nearly means to be pin-point decisive in one's decision and having the ability to face any difficulties with courage. Similarly, independent means not relying upon anybody to do the utilitarian works and tasks and be productive on one's own stand. Becoming strong and independent are qualities that are pretty much necessary to lead or more appropriately saying - to struggle in real world. Now coming to the point, why luxury and easy access or facilities are actually preventing people to become strong and independent individual? The thing is that - human being has always been the favours of lucidness. yes, people have fought hard for their lives as well as worked continously to invent new things and make their lives better. However, it is pretty much tenable that if a person gets his or her desired ones readily and within his or her comfortable range, then there is hardly any chance that he or she will understand the value of those things. Consequently, sufficient efforts might not be seen in his later part of life when he might not have that easy access ot that thing, he was previously having. Because of not having thorogh access, the individual might become puzzled and loose in his or her motives. Life might seem to be much harder and full of anxiety for him.

In the contrast, when a person does not get things under his skin easily, he has to fought hard for that. As a result, he understands the value of that thing and convincingly he develops a fear of losing that thing or the inspiration to make the thing of his own. In order to achieve this he will work incessently which in turns will make hium better and strong person. The difference between the previously mentioned person and the latter one is that - the latter one will face the real world very early at his age if he is not brought up in lavishness, contrary to the former one. This subtle yet significant difference will the outlooks of the two peronnels and for most of their lives they will maintain that outlook.

Lavishness and luxuries are not the birth right of a human being. People gets those in line from his father. If a person gets those luxuries by born then well, it is his luck; and yes he will be the heir of those wealth. But this does not mean that he will remain same for his entire life. Chance that he might succumb to some unavoidable circumstances and loses all pf his wealth. Then he will find to live in the real world very hard because in the real world everyone has to work on his own, everyone has to stand by his choices and by his opinions. Everyonoe has to develop thier own view point. But a person devoid of exposure to the real working world will not have the opportunity to develop those qualities and as a result in times hardship he will fall apart. Other side, the person who has been accustomed to the challenges of real world will be much more comfortable in leading his lives and he will earn his value from the people. Thus, it will make him more stronger, whereas the former one will languish in frustration because not culturing strong and independent individualities; ahving easy access to comforts.

Although it might not be a poor idea to say that people can still develop strong leadership and stout qualities, even having easy access ot comforts, by having proper trainings from their parents. However, keeping thoughts in mind it can be surely said that easy access to luxuries and comforts actually prevent people from being strong.