The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How does one decide a person's greatness? A person's greatness that has been established in the society or history was appreciated or discussed among people of his generation and then considered of a great value. It can also be the opposite where they will find it contradictory with their own beliefs. Either way, his contemporaries have helped in building a status for him by making him popular because of his work, action, belief or creation. It is also common in the society that people look up to those who have achieved a greatness for their work and existed in time before them. So, we can’t say biasedly that the greatness of any person can be decided only by those who live after them and not by their contemporaries.

An individual with greatness is sometimes not appreciated by his contemporaries. If we look at the history we will see how Charles Darwin was criticized by his contemporaries for giving a theory of evolution which claimed humans evolved from the apes. But many years after his death when his theory was proven right, he was given a great status in the history by the people as a man of greatness, not just a common scientist. Even today, we remember and honor him for his revolutionary theories on evolution. Great men like Keplar, Copernicus, Galileo Galilei all stood by their ground as they had discovered the earth is not flat and it is not the center of the universe. Galileo Galilei was even punished for blasphemy by the pope. But later down the time, their theory was proven to be true and we certainly know now the earth is not flat and it is not the center of the universe. So, their contemporaries not just opposed them in their belief, but they also wrongfully accused many of them for having a different opinion than theirs. So, in this case these great men remembered for their greatness for more than centuries were not appreciated by their contemporaries.

But if we look at music and art, all of the great artists and musicians were greatly appreciated by their contemporaries and was regarded as a great talent that helped them shape their status of greatness. Writers like Shakespeare, Rabindranath Tagore were immensely supported by other writers and even commoners for their skills and creations. They were given great reviews by their contemporaries. Artists and musicians like Leonardo Da Vinci, Beethoven, Mozart all of them were greatly appreciated by their contemporaries. Their support and appreciation made them as great individuals of their time. As a result, people who lives after them for generations, even today are apricating their work, because the support they received from their contemporaries from their time.

All being said, with above demonstrations carefully given we can say that, people who achieve greatness are always not just appreciated for their work by people who live after them, but also by their contemporaries. The greatness of individuals can be decided by both those who live after them and by their contemporaries.