The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is stated in the memorandum that recent surveys indicate home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time manufacturers are marketing energy sufficient home appliances. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in the area will not increase and construction of new generating plants will not be necessary. While these may be true, but they stand on some unwarranted assumptions, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the argument. So, before evaluating the substantiality of the argument the following four questions must be answered.

First of all, is the author considering the business offices and large companies that demand large amount of electricity in the corresponding area? While due to the new technologies the home appliances are now more energy efficient reducing the usage of electricity; the offices and companies run their electronic devices on a heavy load and need a lot of electricity daily. It can also happen that while home appliances are reducing the electricity demand, the local businesses and offices further increase and the overall demand may not decrease at all. Rather skyrocketing the demand of electricity due to immense workload in businesses and companies. It can happen that the area suddenly builds more shops and malls that also need huge supply of electricity to run. So, without considering these aspects the author's assumptions doesn't hold its persuasiveness. In order to prove its credibility these situations must be considered. If any of these scenarios are true, the author's recommendation loses its significance.

Secondly, is the author considering the population of that area will stay constant over the years or not increase at all? While the energy efficient home appliances may be installed in the residential area, it can also happen that the population over the years will increase and therefore increase the demand of electricity in that area. So, the assumption of the author that the demand of electricity will decrease may not be the case at all. Before coming to such conclusion which is the company don’t need to plant anymore electricity generating plants, the planning department should consider such a crucial factor like population. Any increase in the population will affect the supply and demand of electricity conservation. SO, without proper research on this matter, the author's proposition might not hold water.

Thirdly, the author mentioned in his memorandum, the three plants in operation are 20 years old. As a result, we can consider the technologies that are used in the plant are 20 years old and are not like the new energy efficient technology author has mentioned. So, these plants’ infrastructure might not be energy efficient creating more electricity demand. As old technologies have to be replaced with new technologies with time, these plants rather stayed with 20 years old compliances. So, the author has to check its own company’s technologies to keep updated and be more energy efficient. With this scenario considered, the authors proposal is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author is considering that all of the residents in that area will be able to purchase the energy efficient home appliances which in reality might not be the case. While some of the residents still be able to buy them, there will be some of them who will not have enough money to buy the new home appliances. Without considering this situation, the author blindly believes all of the people in that area are going to be able to afford these tools, which loosens the strength of the argument.

In sum, as it stands now, the author considers the argument on the basis of some unwarranted assumptions without proper evidence. Without proving the above questions, the argument will not be persuasive enough and may not be considered feasible. Thus, the author should provide some evidence on his claim (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study). Then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.