The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The greatness of individuals can be decided by their contemporaries. The greatness of individuals is not decided by only those who live after them. But, there are few individuals whose greatness was known by the people who lived after them but not their contemporaries.

Firstly, let us consider the case of the American president Abraham Lincoln. The greatness of him was initially known by his contemporaries by observing few situations which occurred when he was the American president. He has proposed the abolition of slavery in America and fought for the equality of all the people in America. He handled situations carefully by making important decisions during the American Civil War. These situations helped in proving in his greatness to his contemporaries.

Secondly, let us consider the case of freedom fighters like Jawahar Lal Nehru, Rani Laxmi Bai who struggled for the Indian Independence. Their greatness was known to their contemporaries and the people who lived after them when India has achieved its independence.

Thirdly, let us consider the case of Steve Jobs. His greatness is known by his contemporaries due to the fame achieved by the Apple company. The greatness of Mark Zuckerberg is known to his contemporaries because of the increased usage of facebook, one of the popular social media app, by many users.

However, the greatness of few individuals have been decided by people who lived after them. For instance, consider the case of Galileo's contribution in the physics field. His greatness was found by the people who lived after him but not by his contemporaries. He has stated that earth is not the center of universe and the sun is the center of the universe. Initially people did not believe him and his greatness was known to the people who lived after him when they conducted experiments to prove this statement. His contribution in the physics field has helped many scientists later in their contributions.

The greatness of individuals can be mostly decided by his contemporaries but not by the people who live after them. However, there are few cases where the greatness of individuals was decided by the people who lived after them.